Home

So I know I said my next book to read was going to be The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood, well, this didn’t work out. Quite simply, I forgot to pick the book up when I left for my morning commute. I still had my Kindle in my bag from reading The Dress Thief by Natalie Meg Evans so rather than being bored on my journey, I thought I’d just pick something else I hadn’t yet read from there instead.

Pottermore Presents: Short Stories From Hogwarts of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies

Pottermore Presents: Short Stories From Hogwarts of Power, Politics and Poltergeists

Pottermore Presents: Hogwarts – An Incomplete and Unreliable Guide

Three mini books by J.K. Rowling, giving us a little more of that delicious insight and detail into the wizarding world. I swear I’m not as Harry Potter obsessed as it currently seems I may be with my posts, what with both the Cursed Child play and Fantastic Beasts review… Ah well.

I really enjoyed this mini series, they are all separate books and have to be bought separately but I didn’t want to do three separate posts about them; a tad too much for such small books.

Though two of the books are titled as short stories, they are actually more like the third; all guides with words from Jo about her thought processes behind each wizarding subject. Honestly, the imagination of that woman is unbelievable. And though they may not technically be short stories, we are still transported back to the world of Harry Potter. Once again it is made all the more real as we are taken and shown the lives of its inhabitants, many that we never even met in the original stories – yet through their existence, helped to shape the world of Harry Potter as we know it. And if that didn’t make sense, basically, we’re given more background, like the intense process that has to be undertaken to become an animagus; and how Azkaban came into being.

Shocker – the text and subjects inside each book will be as the titles suggest.

Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies It gives us everything from; the lives of Professor McGonagall and Remus Lupin, to learning about Hagrid’s predecessor the previous Care of Magical Creatures teacher.

Power, Politics and Poltergeists Gives us, you guessed it, Umbridge, among other things of course. We find out more about Peeves the poltergeist, Azkaban’s gruesome history and about every single Minister for Magic in chronological order.

Hogwarts – An Incomplete and Unreliable Guide We are let in on just some of Hogwarts’ secrets with this one, like how the Chamber of Secrets was created, that Platform 9 3/4 is not the only magical train platform (although I feel now this should have been more obvious to me), and we discover what the Hufflepuff common room and dormitories are really like.

I loved reading these books, they really were fascinating and have astounded me further in the case of J.K. Rowling’s imagination. She really has created an entire world – an entire world, not just some characters – from her imagination. Skill.

Would I recommend these books? To a Potter fan? Sure. They’re great little trivia guides and would delight anyone with a fondness for the wizarding world. Not a Potter fan? Then these will just seem like utter gobbledygook to you, so maybe not.

Up next to read: The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood. As long as I don’t forget to pack it in my bag again that is.

Until next time. x

Leave a Reply

