Home

When I first heard that Wonder Woman was getting a revamp, my initial thought was, ‘another superhero branch? Do we need any more? And female? It’ll probably be rubbish.’ How naive and patriarchally ingrained is that! But I couldn’t think of a stand-alone female-led superhero series that proved to be just as good as the well-known male ones (ignoring any spin offs from their male-counterparts, e.g. Batgirl, Supergirl – you get the idea). Wonder Woman was the only one I had heard of and all I had to go on that was hearsay about some dodgy 70s programme about a woman wearing star spangled short shorts and had a lasso of truth…

Thankfully I soon changed my mind after really getting into my superhero films and realising that it is most definitely about time we had a good female superhero. And that in-fact there was a HUGE gap in the market for a seriously kick-ass female superhero.

So if Wonder Woman was the biggest and best we were going to get, then I was just going to have to get on board with it.

As more and more began to come out about the film, my excitement grew. The ads made it look awesome.

 

The problem is, I hate getting excited for films. I prefer going to see a film when I think it’s going to be a bit rubbish – as I can then be pleasantly surprised when I do enjoy it. Glass half-empty or what.

But despite myself, I was excited to see the Wonder Woman film; so excited that we booked to see it on the opening night.

Before she was Wonder Woman, she was Diana, princess of the Amazons, trained to be an unconquerable warrior. Raised on a sheltered island paradise, when an American pilot crashes on their shores and tells of a massive conflict raging in the outside world, Diana leaves her home, convinced she can stop the threat. Fighting alongside man in a war to end all wars, Diana will discover her full powers… and her true destiny. Description from the official movie site: wonderwomanfilm.com

I loved it.

Loved it.

Unapologetic, head strong and (like most women) more powerful than she herself knew, Diana Princess of Themyscira, A.K.A. Wonder Woman, was every bit the strong superhero lead I was wishing for her to be.

To say she kicked-ass would be an understatement. Her sense of child-like wonder, heart and naiveté did nothing to distract from her strength and will, and we were drawn into caring for Diana through her beliefs and everything she does, so when she heads into battle – we care about what happens to her.

Saying that, the film itself was ever so slightly too long, say about twenty minutes. I found myself at one point thinking, I’m already getting fidgety and I know there’s still a lot more to get through in this film. There was a lot of leg position switching, I’ll put it that way.

As with most – if not all – films, the story was building up to a crescendo, and although Wonder Woman herself was amazing, the villain of the piece fell a little flat, didn’t quite hit the spot of a good villain – if you see what I mean. For whatever reason, it just didn’t feel…appropriate. Especially after the rest of the film had been so good.

Seeing Diana leave her hidden island of Themyscria, the only place she had ever known, and enter our world – was fascinating. The chemistry between Diana and Steve was perfect with greatly timed comedic, sentimental and raw moments throughout. And although I think there could have been more made of Dr Maru (Dr Poison) and General Ludendorff – more back story, more why behind the what; the overall showing of what horrors lie in war and specifically in WWI, were done brilliantly.

So when the ending hit and it was a bit so-so, I was slightly disappointed.

BUT. That does not take away from my new found love for Wonder Woman. It was clearly a set up for more to come, and I for one am welcoming more with open arms.

Thanks to this film and the global recognition it has received, hopefully attitudes towards female superheroes (mine included) will be changed for good. Wonder Woman is paving the way and we can only hope there is screenwriters and filmmakers brave enough out there to pick up this mantle and run with it, giving more female superheroes the limelight to prove they can stand their ground in the superhero ranks.

Have you seen the new Wonder Woman film? What were your thoughts on it?

Until next time. x

4 thoughts on “Wonder Woman – film review

Leave a Reply

