Home

I’ve had this sitting on my shelf since release day, looking at me all sad like, for months, because I just neglected it after my eagerness to get it home safely in one piece.

But it never felt like the right time to read it. I read mainly when I’m commuting to work and didn’t want to ruin it by carrying it in my bag, I had to wait for a time when I would read it at home. But that would mean I’d have to have two books on the go at the same time, and that doesn’t sit well with me. So there it stayed on the shelf, waiting for that right time.

Well that was never going to come, was it. So when I finished my last book I thought, sod it, I’ll just have to take it on the train with me. Which I did and I am pleased to announce that nothing happened to it. I left the dust cover at home and really, what can happen to a hardcover book anyway? Nothing is the answer.

I loved the film when I went to see it, I know not everyone thought it was a great story to tell from the magical world of HP, but I enjoyed it. And I really enjoyed reading the original script of it too.

It’s been long enough between the film and reading the script that I couldn’t remember everything that was coming along, but I have to say, I remember there being more talking in the film than there really is.

I’ve always thought acting must be so difficult with all those lines to remember, but when you read a script, you actually realise how little lines there are to remember. Screen time is taken up with scenery and running and hard stares. It’s clever when you think about it, the story is moved along with very little speech and we don’t even realise.

For those that read the script of the theatre play, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (HPCC), and loved the format or at least could see past it to get into the story, then you’ll probably love this one too as it obviously follows along the same format (what with them both being scripts and all). And for those that read HPCC and couldn’t see past the script format, then you probably won’t enjoy this one either.

The story is set in 1920s New York. Newt Scamander, author of the book Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, a Hogwarts text book in HP times, is setting off in search of these fantastical beasts in order to learn about them and their ways for research for his upcoming book (he hasn’t yet written Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them in the story). Inside his seemingly innocent luggage case, the only luggage holder he has with him for his travels, is a whole bunker of beasts, and when some of those beasts go missing, it’s up to Newt and a couple of new-found friends to recover them.

There’s so much more I could say about the story but you know me, I hate to give spoilers so I won’t. You’ll just have to read it to find out any more.

I would recommend this, yet I am a Potter fan, so perhaps I’m biased. If you’ve liked the Harry Potter stuff since we left Hogwarts, then chances are you’ll like it too.

Up next to read: I don’t know yet. I’ve just ordered a few books for my Kindle as I’m off on holiday for a couple of weeks so it could be any one of the four or five. I know, it takes me forever to read, so why did I buy so many books? They just all sounded so good.

Until next time. x

4 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – J.K. Rowling – Review

  1. I thought that Eddie Redmayne was a big part of Newt’s character in the film with his personality – did the character seem much different in the screenplay? Very interesting review!

    Seb

    • Tbh I did just see the characters from the film in my head as I read the lines, so I’d have to say no from my point of view. Do you think you’d like to give reading the script a go? Thanks for reading Seb!

      • Yeah, I wondered if that would be the case. I’m not sure, I’ve got a few things on my to read list and I’m not sure if it’s worth reading given that I’ve seen the film, but perhaps over the summer…

  2. Pingback: Pottermore presents: short stories from Hogwarts – J.K. Rowling – Reviews | Lisa Tiller

Leave a Reply

