Home

Something has happened to me lately that has left me devouring books at an alarming speed. I’ve read and finished another one.

Perhaps I trundled through a patch of radioactive waste without realising it recently and have acquired the super power of speed reading!

Or it could be that I’m really enjoying reading at the moment so I’m doing it more.

One of those.

Although I did see this quote yesterday from Jane Austen which could account for something:

“If a book is well written, I always find it too short.” Jane Austen

And Bridget Jones’s Baby was definitely too short!

This one came out under very little fanfare from what I can tell. I’d seen the new Bridget Jones’s Baby film – there was lots of fanfare for that! – but I didn’t even know about the book of the same name until I Googled about the film and stumbled across it. I ordered it instantly and there is sat on my shelf for a while whilst I read through some of my back log.

Well the day came when it was the turn of Bridget Jones’s Baby to get a read-through and I wasn’t exactly expecting much after the last book; Bridget Jones – Mad About the Boy, in which it kind of felt like a ‘money maker’ rather than a story of Bridget’s that had to be told.

The baby book (this is how I will refer to the book version of Bridget Jones’s Baby for a while) slots in between The Edge of Reason and Mad About the Boy – and is so different to the film!

Apart from the pregnancy-baby-bit, that’s the same.

I’ll be honest and say that I don’t actually remember how the book version of The Edge of Reason finishes, I know the film version better – but they’re two quite different kettles of fish too from what I can remember; so I won’t try and tell you where we left Bridget as I’ll probably be wrong. However, I do remember that she was definitely still with Darcy at the end.

Anyway, the baby book begins with a letter to her son Billy (spoiler) in which she basically tells him “Here are my diary entries from around the time I was pregnant with you, you’re bound to find them one day, so you may as well have them now.” In a nutshell.

We then find ourselves once again reading Bridget’s diary (what a cosy place to be..ahhh) and find her in the familiar scenario of being 1) single, 2) late, and 3) hungover. That’s our Bridge.

The reason for Bridget being Darcy-less yet again, comes via a different avenue to the route taken in the film, and I will say – I actually prefer the film version of this event..but nonetheless it’s good to see a different option to what may have happened between them to split them up.

In the film version, the baby affair comes about when our Bridge succumbs to the charms of Mark and ‘billionaire’ Jack in a short space of time and then doesn’t know who the father is. I’m so pleased to say this is not what happens in the book. Well it is, but it’s the tried and true Darcy/Daniel feud which works so well. Jack the random billionaire is nowhere to be seen.

Bridget Jones’s Baby is charming, disarming, infuriating and encouraging all at the same time (Colin does have some crackers of advice at times).

I loved it. I did. But with pages of more room available for more Bridget-ness on the chapter pages and with nine whole blank pages at the back of the book – and with it not being that thick of a book to begin with – I would definitely say it was too short.

But then, maybe it was just really well written.

Would I recommend it? Yes, as long as you’ve read the rest of the series for it to make sense, otherwise there’ll be references that you just simply won’t get.

Have you read Bridget Jones’s Baby? What were your thouhgts on it?

Up next to read: The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton. This is another one I got for Christmas (the other being The Girl on the Train) and this one sits nicely into my Bucket List goal of reading a book set in every country as it’s set in Amsterdam, Netherlands. I haven’t got very far in that goal to be honest, but, well, I’ve got the rest of my life, haven’t I.

Until next time. x

2 thoughts on “Bridget Jones’s Baby – Helen Fielding – Review

    • That would be great, I am struggling a bit to see the events in my head – I just don’t know what so much of the stuff she’s talking about is. Would be good to be able to get lost in the story rather than trying to figure things out.

Leave a Reply

