Home

I was hotly anticipating The Gift after Louise Jensen’s debut novel The Sister was so good!

But I’m going to kick-off straight away by saying that this new one was ‘alright’.

We follow Jenna as she struggles to come to terms with having had a heart transplant and what that means for her future. Soon after her op, she begins to have odd feelings and dreams, like she’s being watched and about to be attacked, but she doesn’t know why.

Jenna starts thinking that something isn’t quite right with her new heart and she is perhaps experiencing the feelings and visions from her donor’s previous life. But what could it mean? What had happened to the donor?

Jenna then sets herself on a quest to find out what her visions mean and what lies behind the scared feelings.

There were some parts of this book that had me on the edge of my seat, just like with The Sister. I was reading one particularly creepy part when my doorbell rang – there was no way I was answering that! But then there were parts that I felt I had to ‘get through’ to be able to finish it. Sadly, the ending was one such part that had to be got through. Too wet for my liking. Louise could have done something much braver with it in my opinion.

All in all, though gripping in places, the story felt rushed. It wasn’t polished enough (spelling mistakes throughout which stopped me in my tracks and took some of the tension away, Ed Sheehan?), it felt Louise needed a few more looks over it, without the publishers on her back to get it finished to a deadline.

I feel like I’ve been unjustly harsh with my review today as I did really enjoy parts of it, but only parts and these words are what are in my heart. I’m still a Louise Jensen fan as she does have good ideas for stories, twists and turns abound, but I was expecting something more from The Gift, braver plot choices (none of which I can say, because, well, spoilers). Who knows, maybe she too wanted to make those choices but higher powers wouldn’t allow them. I’ll still be pre-ordering the next one when that comes along as the story idea alone will be something worth reading… but hopefully it won’t be out for a longer while than there was between the last two to give it the chance her writing truly deserves.

Have you read either The Gift or The Sister by Louise Jensen? I’d love to hear your take on either of them and whether you agree or not with me.

Up next to read: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins.

Until next time. x

One thought on “The Gift – Louise Jensen – Review

  1. Pingback: The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins – Review | Lisa Tiller

Leave a Reply

