Home

Its amazing how much language, or the way in which we form our sentences, has changed since Dickens’ time.

That’s what struck me most when I read this. Some of it felt closer to Shakespearean tongue than to 21st Century and may as well have been another language.

But the story of Dickens’ Scrooge and the three visiting ghosts, is so universally known, that even when sometimes I couldn’t exactly follow what was happening right then as I was reading, I could still follow along with the tale regardless.

Truthfully, my telling of this Christmas story is known mainly through Jim Henson’s, The Muppet Christmas Carol, and since lots of the lines in the film version are true to the lines of the original written story, I could often hear the voice’s of Kermit, Miss Piggy and Michael Cain; delivering Dickens’ lines only the way Kermit, Miss Piggy and Michael Cain can.

This must have been the first telling of A Christmas Carol that I had ever seen because for years I actually thought there were two ghosts that visited Scrooge at the beginning thanks to The Muppet Christmas Carol. Jacob and Robert Marley. It made no sense to me when I came to see a different version that there was only Jacob…where was Robert?

You don’t need me to tell you that the original story is beautifully written – it wouldn’t be as famous as it is, if it wasn’t. I wish I had read this on my Kindle though and not the actual book…as nice as it is to read an actual book sometimes. But I missed being able to press on a word that I’ve not come across before and find out instantly what it means. I get stuck in my tracks otherwise, when I come across a word I don’t know, I have to stop and try to figure it out, but I never find out if I was right in my guessing. Not that that really matters.

Dickens’ Scrooge is such a powerful character from beginning to end, we follow his journey and learn the lessons right alongside him that see him change his miserly ways. It’s a wonderful story that always makes me want to change too; to be nicer, to be more generous, to be more open, to live a more meaningful life and help others where I can. And yes I know, we should strive for this all year round, but sometimes we forget and at least we’re reminded once a year; even though it may feel as though others aren’t even trying to be kinder when you get shoved from left to right by panicking Christmas shoppers.

It can be a trying time at Christmas, but it’s the time when we have to be even more understanding, and A Christmas Carol can help us do that; to see beyond the outer layer of people and their consumer driven ways, to realise that everyone has their own story. We all have our own shit to deal with, and on top of that , we are expected/we want to have a ‘normal’ Christmas – traditions abound. So we rush around trying to get everything that will make it the most perfect time – and stuff everyone else – if they’re in my way, I’m making them move!

We have no way of knowing what is going on in someone else’s life, so the next time you get shoved out of the way; brush it off and wish them a Merry Christmas. I don’t mean sarcastically either.

There’s time yet before Christmas to get in a reading of Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol, so if you can I’d say do it, you won’t regret it. It’ll make you feel much better about the world.

I believe this will be my last post before the big day, so I just want to wish you all love and peace and to have a very Merry Christmas!

Until next time. x

One thought on “A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens – Review

Leave a Reply

