Home

I have had a revelation. Memoirs don’t hold my attention.

Although technically Caitlin Moran’s ‘How to be a woman’ wasn’t a memoir, it was along the same lines as this current one from Mara Wilson ‘Where am I now?’, both largely about their own experiences and neither capable of keeping my attention for very long.

I was so excited for the release of ‘Where am I now?’, so excited that I pre-ordered it for my Kindle.

For those who don’t know, Mara Wilson is the child star of films such as Mrs Doubtfire and Matilda, and although I loved her in those, it was the 90s remake of Miracle on 34th Street that she’ll always be in my heart for. I watch it every year in the lead up to Christmas. It’s not everyone’s cup of tea, I know, but I find it so heart-warming and fun (perhaps not when Father Christmas is in jail…) that it’s a must-watch in December.

So when I read that Mara Wilson, child star, was writing a book about her life, I thought ‘I have to read this, I’d love to know what she’s up to now’. There was a lot of build up around the book with her doing interviews on a couple of the podcasts I listen to and with all the hosts saying how ‘amazing’ the book is, ‘it’s so relatable and sooooooo funny!’, my excitement grew.

And then finally, the book arrived to my Kindle.

I was so annoyed at being busy for the first couple of days after it arrived that I couldn’t read it straight away but a few days later I managed to find some time and could sit and read my eagerly awaited book.

Personally, for me. I felt it never really went anywhere. I didn’t laugh or even break a smirk (which I felt super guilty at when I read the last chapter about one of her stand-up comedy story telling shows in which she bombed), and most of the time it felt…indulgent. Which is a stupid thing to say when it is a book about her life after all – of course it’s going to be indulgent, but that’s why I think perhaps it’s not that the book was bad, it’s that perhaps I’m just not into people talking about themselves for an entire book (in real life conversation, I love it and am super nosy about people’s lives and experiences).

Maybe it’s jealousy, maybe I couldn’t identify with her, maybe I identified with her too much, maybe it made me feel bad about myself; who knows. All I can tell you is that after the first few pages, it was another one where I put it down for a few days and didn’t rush to go back to it. It took me two months to finish this one.

Since finishing Mara Wilson’s ‘Where am I now?’ yesterday, I have started a new book Debbie Johnson’s ‘Christmas at the Comfort Food Cafe’ (you know how long it takes me to read, I want to make sure I’ve finished this before Christmas is over…) and I was chuckling away from the first couple of pages.

I like fiction. I like stories. I like adventure. I’m going to try and steer clear of memoirs…although there’s an Agatha Christie notebook memoir (the name of which escapes me and I annoyingly can’t figure out which it is by Googling, I’ll just have to go back to the shop where I saw it) which I am eager to read. So maybe I’ll give one more a shot at some point, but for now I’ll be sticking with fiction.

I am really disappointed I felt this way about the book, but it just wasn’t for me. It hasn’t changed how I feel about Mara though, I’d still love to meet her one day (I think we’d get along well – although she probably wouldn’t want to if she ever read my review of her book), see her comedy show or a play she’s written as I think they’d translate better for me; but sadly I don’t think that will ever happen.

Have you come across this one? I’d love to hear what your take on it was?

Up next to read: Christmas at the Comfort Food Cafe by Debbie Johnson.

Until next time. x

7 thoughts on “Where am I now? – Mara Wilson – Review

  1. I’ve had this on my want to read list since it started its marketing campaign – like you I was curious and intrigued to find out about her life and the thought of a funny memoir really drew me in. I think I’ll lower my expectations a bit since you’ve mentioned that it’s not that hilarious, but I am still eager to read about what she has been doing with her life… that and interested to read about her sexuality and support of the GLBT community. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, it helps to have realistic expectations for upcoming releases. Happy reading 🙂

    • You never know, you may find it hilarious, and I hope you do. If you usually do well with reading memoir type books then I’m sure you’ll enjoy this one more than I did. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment, I hope you do enjoy when you get around to it x

  2. Not all memoirs come off as self-indulgent, so I wouldn’t wash my hands of the genre completely. It is a hard line to walk though and I’ve read a few that felt that way. Im sorry you’ve had two back to back bad experiences.

  3. Pingback: Christmas at the Comfort Food Cafe – Debbie Johnson – Review | Lisa Tiller

Leave a Reply

