Home

I realised after I wrote my last post ‘My anxieties and doing things alone‘ in which I wrote about the ordeal of me going to see this film on my own (think wrong seats, popcorn going everywhere, that kind of thing); that I was, in fact, experiencing my own embarrassing Bridget Jones moment and really, what better company to be in?

Maybe it was my brain’s way of getting me into the right frame of mind to be watching the latest film of Bridget’s antics. After all, if I could channel Bridget in real life, and feel her pain, then I would be bound to enjoy the film. Thinking about it, I wonder if my own antics at thie cinema were all a ruse carefully concocted by my own subconscious to make me sympathise more with Bridget, and thus enjoy the film more; as secretly I was worried it wasn’t going to be very good, especially after my uncertainty of Bridget Jones Mad about the Boy.

But my brain had my back for this. It knew I couldn’t take losing more faith in someone and something I have loved for a long time now – to the money making machine. It chose that my love for the Bridget Jones franchise was stronger and needed to be preserved more so than my own self confidence. I had to love this film, and it was prepared to do anything to make that happen…Going too far? Perhaps, but whatever gets you through the day, eh?

Anyway, enough about that, let’s get down to the film.

At the end of Bridget Jones Edge of Reason, we left the gang at the renewal of her parents’ vows after Mark Darcy had popped the question to our beloved Bridget.

Roughly ten years on in Bridget Jones’s Baby, we’re back with Bridget in her flat. She’s single and we’re left wondering what happened in that time between her and Mark.

Time passes and she meets a handsome stranger (Jack, who turns out to be a billionaire for some odd reason), and they end up having a one night stand together. In the morning Bridget assumes the guy’s flown the coup so goes on her merry way.

A few days later and she meets up with Mark at a Christening. The sparks fly between them for the night and in the morning it’s Bridget who runs away. Here we find out what really happened between the two of them to make them separate. I won’t spoil it, but it’s understandable.

And when Bridget discovers she’s pregnant, she’s left unsure of who the daddy of her unborn baby is.

Rivalry between Mark and Jack ensues, pretty much like that between Mark and Daniel in previous years, but, I have to say, it’s just an entertaining.

It gets away with being a lighthearted romcom even though it covers some hard topics when you really look at it, especially from the male side, two men vying for the attention of and falling in love with a woman who may or may not be having their child. That’s not easy and does just seem a bit ‘sticky taped over the cracks’ at the end, if you know what I mean.

Was it worth bringing Bridget back?

Oh my, yes! I don’t know if it was because I was my own so I was more vulnerable and the fact that I didn’t have to worry about what my companions thought or if they were enjoying themselves, all I had to do was watch it. And I loved it!

I laughed, I welled up (a couple of times to tell you the truth), I felt all warm and gooey inside and was completely won over by the whole thing.

Don’t get me wrong, there were a few bits it could have done without, some of the background story stuff was just ‘filler’ that didn’t add anything or push the story along but all in all, if you enjoy the other Bridget Jones films, then this is a must.

Yes, everyone looks older, and that throws you for a little while, but quickly you remember ‘hey, we’re all getting older’ which then makes you question your own mortality for a minute or two, until you let go and allow yourself be sucked into the story.

All in all, I actually think this may be one that I go watch again at the cinema!

Have you seen Bridget Jones’s Baby? What did you think of it?

Until next time. x

4 thoughts on “Bridget Jones’s Baby – Film Review

  1. I agree with you. It WAS worth bringing Bridget back. This was a feel-good film and, in my humble opinion, it is the best of the three by far. The first was good and the second wasn’t.

    If there is anyone out there who wants cheering up, or anyone who doesn’t need cheering up but just feels in the mood for a few good laughs and a warmth-giving story, get yourself down to the cinema and enjoy!

    • I think I’ll still always love the first film the most for the nostalgia but I did enjoy the second too…although not as much as the third. The third was great. You are completely right, it is a total feel good film and is bound to make anyone laugh at least once! Thanks for reading Lance x

  2. Pingback: The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins – Review | Lisa Tiller

  3. Pingback: Bridget Jones’s Baby – Helen Fielding – Review | Lisa Tiller

Leave a Reply

