Home

After reading and enjoying The Tales of Beedle the Bard and pre-ordering Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them – the screenplay, I suddenly realised I didn’t have the original Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them by J.K.Rowling, in my collection. Well that had to change immediately. Or as soon as I was next at a book shop. Then, then it would change.

Once again, Waterstone’s came to my rescue, more book stores are available (I watched a lot of BBC growing up). There’s just something about Waterstone’s that never fails to get me excited about books. I walk in and I want to buy everything. I can spend hours in one of these stores, any of them, no matter the size. I used to work right by one so every lunch time (practically, I may have missed one or two) I would walk to Waterstone’s; it just soothed me somehow and got me ready for more work in the afternoon. It still has this same effect, sometimes when ‘shopping gets too much’, a quick nip into Waterstone’s perks me right up again.

Anyway, I was in Reading and taking a stroll through the store, you should know which store I mean by now, and there on a shelf was the book I had been hoping to find. £4.99 and all profits to charity. How could I say no then when I knew I’d also be helping charity by buying it? I couldn’t say ‘no’ to Comic Relief, could I? No. SOLD!

When I bought this I was still reading The Lady with the Sun Lamp by Jean A.Rees so – much like money burning a hole in a pocket – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, was searing its way through my book shelf dying to be read. When I got to it, it was a nice change to be reading something a bit more fantastical (although this depends on your view of God I guess…).

For those who don’t know (they’re out there I’m sure), Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, is a reference book of creatures in the wizarding world that have been removed from muggle view, for our own safety really. This fifty-second print edition includes hand written notes from Harry, Ron and Hermione which make for an extra comical take on some of the creatures.

As real as we all know it already feels (“Whether you come back by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home” J.K.Rowling) these little insights and behind-the-scenes extracts into their everyday classes, one; reminds me of my own school days; and two; lets us in to see more of their world.

The references themselves are amusing and the sheer scale of beasts is incredible. For a little book, there’s a lot in it. The imagination of that woman is astounding; the detail behind Harry’s magical world is monumental, awe inspiring and enviable.

For a small book and a small price (proceeds of which go to Comic Relief) it packs a punch and I’d definitely recommend it to those who want a bit more light shed onto new depths of the wizarding world.

Up next to read: I haven’t actually decided yet. It’ll either be my hardback copy of Bridget Jones, Mad About the Boy by Helen Fielding, or one on my new paperwhite Kindle, once I’ve set it up. Watch this space.

Until next time.

2 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them – J.K.Rowling – Review

Leave a Reply

