Home

If you’re anything like me, then you constantly give yourself a hard time for ‘wasting’ your days.

Whether that’s because you’ve already spent most of the day worrying that you’re not making the most of it and not getting through your to-do list as quickly as you should be (you’d be amazed how much time this does waste); spent most of it trying to figure out what you want to do, picked something and then worried that you made the wrong choice and, in fact, there’s much more important things you should/need to be doing, so again you don’t get a lot done because you’re not giving the task in-hand your full attention.

Sound familiar? Then I have the answer for you.

This may seem a bit silly but trust me, it worked for me.

What you will need:

A pen

A piece of paper

Two dice

What you do:

With the pen, write on the piece of paper twenty two things to do. This should be made up of the things you want to do, you need to do at some point and the things you should do. For example:

Twenty minutes of exercise

Bake a cake

One load of washing

Go for a walk

Do a bungee jump

Anything at all, although it’s helpful if it’s something you will actually be able to do that day.

Then you label each task with numbers from two – twelve. Why starting from two? You have two dice remember, you won’t be able to roll a one. Why only to twelve? So you’ve got two options if you roll the same number more than once. By the end of your list you should have two options for each dice roll.

Now the fun begins. Pick up your dice, give ’em a good shake and let them roll! Add the numbers up, look at your list and THAT is your first activity. Once you’ve finished your first task, roll again, and again and again until your day has been filled.

This really helped me yesterday. Being out of work, I beat myself up each and every day for it and feel guilty for doing anything other than job hunting or looking for freelance writing work. So, to give myself a day off from self-bullying (there really is no other way to describe it), I decided I would not think about what I was doing and would write a list of everything I had to do, should do and wanted to do and would let fate and the dice plan my day for me instead. Can’t beat myself up for it if it’s not in my control.

And my god, did it work! I got a hell of a lot more done with my day than I would’ve normally and it ran a little something like this:

7: Read a book for 30 minutes (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K.Rowling)

4: Watch a film (I picked a handful assigned them a number and rolled the dice – The Little Mermaid was the winner)

7: Listen to a podcast (Story Club. A series of funny and true stories. This one was 14 minutes long and was a guy called Patrick Lenton telling the story of when he first realised he was an adult. Grim story but I couldn’t help but laugh. Give it a listen)

9: Job hunt, correspondence and freelance (I did this for a couple of hours)

3: Watch TV (Absolutely Fabulous. I was only supposed to watch one episode, but another one just started on Netflix and it seemed rude to switch it off…)

8: Make jam (Nectarine and grape jam. Had some on my toast for breakfast this morning – pretty good, a bit sour which makes a nice change)

6: 7 minute workout (It’s an app that makes you work hard for seven minutes)

10: Drink water (I forget to drink most days, this seemed like a good way to attempt to get some fluids in me)

3: Clean the bathroom

8: Read a magazine for 30 minutes (Vogue)

And that was my day yesterday until Dan came home. There was obviously a lot I didn’t get to do from my list but it changed my day up, made it a bit more unpredictable, kept me on my toes and stopped me from belittling myself as I wasn’t in control of what I was doing. I could breathe easy for the day.

This probably isn’t an every day way to do things, more a once-in-a-while when the drudgery sets in or at the weekends when you can’t quite decide what you should do. But I’d definitely recommend giving it a go at least once. Depending on how crazy you go with your list, you never know what you might end up doing!

Giving it a go? I’d love to hear what your day looked like.

Until next time.

9 thoughts on “How to make your day a bit more interesting and get more stuff done

  1. This was a super idea, I think. I wish I’d had this advice when I was still in my 60s. I might have been much more productive. As it is, I just turned 70, and my list is way too long from all the things I didn’t do in my 60s. 🙂
    Good post!

  2. This is such a good idea! I’m going to try it this week (I’ve already decided to be lazy this weekend)… I’ll let you know how it goes! xo

Leave a Reply

