Home

Wondering whether to try the Apple Cider Vinegar Detox? Well let me tell you my experience of it; it did nothing for me at all. It was a horrible experiment, making me almost sick every time I drank it, and for what reason? Absolutely none apparently.

It’s a three-day detox where you carry on eating as normal (I eat quite healthily so didn’t want to change any other part of my diet anyway) and you just have a special drink before each meal. That’s it. Simple.

I was intrigued when I stumbled across this recipe and thought, ‘meh, I can give it a go for three days’. I made a note of my weight at the start and took a photo to ‘see the difference’. A mixture of apple cider vinegar, lemon, cayenne pepper, water and agave nectar (it was cheaper than maple syrup), three times a day for three days before each meal. But after three days, there was no change on the scale or in the mirror.

If you’re thinking about doing it, why not – give it a go, it may work for you, but let me warn you, it’s horrible to drink, absolutely horrible and for me was a complete waste of time, effort and money and made no difference.

If you’re looking for a miracle weight loss drink, this sadly ain’t it.

4 thoughts on “Apple cider vinegar detox – the result

  1. Hi Lisa,
    Yes I’ve heard of this detox. Apple cider vinegar is brilliant for boosting the immune system and detoxing, I take a tablespoon in a glass of water which makes it far more palatable and keeps the colds away. With regards weightloss, I don’t know if it was advertised as a weightloss option but detox and weight loss are two very different things. It no doubt would have been successful in cleansing and detoxing your system which perhaps may not have been as obvious to see, but if you’re specifically looking for weight loss it may not be the best choice.

    • Hi Freya, this one in particular was sold as a weight loss drink but hey ho, it didn’t kill me so that’s a win. That’s a great tip about apple cider vinegar boosting the immune system, do you have it every day? Thanks for reading and taking the time to reply. x

      • Of course, I find feedback for mine invaluable!
        Wow, that’s really naughty then if they’d promoted it as weight loss. Perhaps if it’s done for a number of months who knows, but false advertising is never good, I’m so sorry for your experience.
        Yes, I do take it each day now, I’d heard such good things from other people, after my fifth cold in four months I was getting frustrated! Also, it’s great to gargle with if you have a sore throat – double check if you need to dilute it, I would assume you do but that’s another brilliant use for it! 🙂 x

      • Perhaps it worked in that way for them, I usually find my body doesn’t quite react in the same ways to things as other people’s bodies do to the same stimuli anyway. I had a reaction just last week where my body all of a sudden saw food (any) as the enemy and I came out in a rash and everything started swelling up, it was very scary; first time it’s happened and hasn’t happened since but that’s the kind of thing my body does – reacts in strange ways when I least suspect it. Everyone’s different though I suppose.
        I’ll definitely be giving the apple cider vinegar a go as a cold deterrent, I’m the same, have had two colds in the last month or so – awful things. Thanks for the tip!!

Leave a Reply

