Home

Another year is coming to an end, can you believe it? I certainly can’t. It still feels like it should be around May or something – not one more sleep until 2016! (I’m talking about tonight – as I write this. I’m not counting New Year’s Eve night – who sleeps before Midnight on New Year’s?)

We’re all another year older, more experienced and hopefully a little wiser. Well some of us maybe…some of you maybe…

What lessons have I learnt from 2015?

Erm…hmm…lessons learned…well…erm…Oh dear.

This year started off great for me confidence wise, goal go-getting wise…and then I don’t know what happened. I felt like a courageous, hopeful, life-loving individual for most of this year, I thought I was well on my way to being the person that I’ve always wanted to be: the leading lady of my own life; but since starting my new job and moving home in November…I’ve struggled to get my mojo back. I feel insecure again, like I have nothing interesting to say to people, blah blah blah (I shouldn’t dwell on these thoughts so I’m not going to articulate them all) – and that’s why I’ve been a bit lacking on the blogging front recently too.

But. 2016 is just around the corner and I am going to do my utmost to get into my flow again and start enjoying my days. After all, I have actually had a great year this year what with my (terrifying) brain scan for science, London Zoo visit, seeing Rooney’s historical 50th goal for England live at Wembley, a bit of indoor sky-diving, little trips to Swanage and Brighton, buying my very own Burberry trench coat (…which I may still not have worn yet…I know), holidays to the Med and the Lake District, having afternoon tea at The Ritz, seeing STOMP, – shit man, I’ve had a great year!

My resolutions for 2015 were:

How will I do this? By learning from the best. I will take inspiration where I can find it, from the women around me, from strong female leads in films and books, and above all practise.

Did I do this? I made a strong headway with this…then lost it. But actions are in place to get this going again.

  • To complete my meditation and yoga exercise every day. Gaining a balance in both my body and mind.

How will I do this? I have my Headspace app to help me with my meditation practice and a ‘Yoga for Dummies’ dvd to help me with the basics. Neither take very long so as long as I persevere and get these done EVERY DAY then I have accomplished the important things.

Did I do this? For a good few months I did. 

  • To get my Digital Marketing diploma. Help to propel my career further.

There are three modules to my course which I am undertaking at separate times. I thought it would be a walk in the park – how wrong I was. It’s expensive, it’s difficult and I both love it and hate it all at the same time. I have five years in which to finish it but really hope I will have completed all three modules by this time next year – or at least two of them.

Did I do this? No. I need to sign up for the next module, but I’ve got five years to do it in. Loads of time!

My resolutions for 2016 are:

How will I do this? I’m going to carry on, or start again, as I did last year by taking inspiration from strong females in books, films, those around me and I’ll include female focused podcasts – there’s a few of them around.

  • Ease up on the procrastinating. I take so long to do anything, my brain doesn’t have a fast setting.

How will I do this? There’s enough apps and blogs out there giving tips, I’ll have a read of some of those to try and find some good tips. Also I’ll look into some brain training too, get that working a bit quicker.

  • Get my health levels up. This will be the year I get myself sorted.

How will I do this? Through exercise – yoga, running, push ups and healthy eating, but also I want to get a few tests to help me too; asthma test, I think I may need an inhaler for when I go running; allergy test, there is something I am eating that just does not agree with my body and I can’t work out what it is; arthritis test, I swear I have arthritis in my hands. If I could figure these things out – I think it would help me to get myself sorted.

 

So they are my resolutions for the coming year. Do I have a shot? Sceptical about the procrastinating one…I come from a long line of procrastinators, so unfortunately I think it’s more that it’s in my blood, but we’ll see.

Well that was my 2015 and plans for 2016. I hope you all have had a great year too and are doing something fun to bring the new year in with!

And with that – I’m off to bed.

Stay safe, be happy and I’ll see you on the other side. x

5 thoughts on “One more sleep until 2016

  1. Thanks for being so open about your confidence issues, Lisa. I’ve been in a pretty similar boat this year (bought first house, in the suburbs instead of living closer in to central London, changed jobs, seen a knock in confidence). It’s comforting to know others like you who seem to have it all together also have these moments. Happy new year and best wishes with your resolutions for 2016!

    • Thanks for saying so Alison, I can assure you it’s a rare occasion that I ever feel I have it all together 😄 I think these big changes for us happening at the same time is a lot for the mind to take and so it regresses back and instead of seeing the new opportunities, it pines for the old routine. I could be wrong but that seems to be what’s going on in my head. We’ll get there. I wish you luck for 2016 too Alison x

Leave a Reply

