Home

I can’t believe it’s been over a month since I last blogged – it seems both too short a time and too long a time for it to be possible.

So what’s been going on? A lot. Like, a lot. Let me run you through it:

I started a new job!

Some of my work from my new job

Some of my work from my new job

 

Which has been exhausting. Going into a new sector that makes no sense to me – has been difficult to adjust to. Leaving the college – where getting new students into the building was the name of the game – and going into a marketing role in the IT industry…well, just, frankly, where do you start? Just today I had two meetings during which I was told completely contradictory points about the company and the products – there’s no hope. But regardless of that I am enjoying it and can see plenty of potential for me to make a difference (so long as I can figure out what all the jargon means).

I went on holiday!

Lakes Lakes-2 Lakes-3

Yes, a week after starting my new job – I went away on holiday to the Lake District. Which was exhausting. The first day we did an accidental 13 mile hike (accidental because it was only supposed to be a 5 mile hike…don’t ask) and I had new boots which I hadn’t worn-in so my feet were then shredded for the rest of the holiday. But the Lakes’ beautiful views are more than enough to take any pain away.

I moved house!

Moved

Which has been exhausting. Physically and emotionally – I was not prepared for this. 1. it really showed me what little body strength I have and that if it wasn’t for the kindness (and strength) of family and friends in helping us move – we’d still be there trying to lug our boxes out; and 2. I didn’t know how much I really loved my flat and didn’t want to give it up until I had to leave it. For the first two days of living in my new house, I’m sorry to say that, I did nothing but full-on grieve for my flat (note, I did lots more than just cry but I did cry a lot). It felt like someone had died and I thought I’d never get over it. But I am getting over it. Little by little, day by day, my new house is gradually becoming my new home.

We’ve been in the house for almost two weeks now but we’ve been so busy with people coming over to the see the new place, going out for friends’ birthdays, my sisters graduation (I am one super-proud sis), and other bits and pieces – we’ve actually spent hardly any time in the house in which we can get stuck into sorting boxes. And don’t even get me started on when we’re going to be able to start decorating – there is dado rail everywhere!

So life has well and truly got in the way of everything normal for me. There’s been no time for reading, exercise, meditation and certainly no time for blogging. But I want to start getting back into a more regular routine with the things I enjoy – whilst I continue to work to get the house in some sort of order.

Next up – CHRISTMAS! Oh boy.

8 thoughts on “When life gets in the way

  1. what made you change jobs ? what made you decide to move into your new place? and how has your the man in your life been able to help you get through two big changes like this?

    • Good questions. Both job change and moving place were down to time to make the change really; my job I’d been in for long enough to learn the ropes and was ready to take my next step into a more advanced marketing role; and we’d lived in our flat for almost eight years when it was only meant to be one or two so although it was time to move into a place where we had our own garden etc, I still didn’t feel quite ready to say goodbye to our home of eight years. Dan has been great as always, he is a very half cup full kind of guy so is great at bringing me up and helping me to look more at the positives (even if I do sometimes resist his good intentions – sometimes you just want to wallow in self-pity, you know?). Thanks for reading and getting involved – it’s much appreciated!

  2. Pingback: A very quick round up of the films I watched in October & November | Lisa Tiller

Leave a Reply

