Home

The Great British Bake Off is back on our screens and I have been inspired to start baking once again!

For the first week I made good ol’ fashioned cup cakes to ease myself back into it. The true motive being to make sure I had something to munch on whilst all those delicious looking bakes were flashing before my eyes – well I hate feeling left out when there’s cake tasting going on.

Then this week, for some reason, I decided to take it further with not only making the viennese whirls recipe I’ve used before – but also with me making my own jam! Yes, that’s right, I made my own nectarine jam – on a week night! I had never attempted jam before so doing it with such a tight deadline (before the show started at 8pm) probably wasn’t the most sensible of ideas I’ve had – but amazingly it worked out! I wouldn’t say I perfected it – it’s a bit too chunky really – but for a first go it wasn’t half bad.

whirls

Now, I’ve seen how they make it on #GBBO with thermometers and gadgets and pectin (whatever the hell that is) – well I don’t have any of that. All I used was a saucepan, a wooden spoon, a jar and some specially bought wax paper discs. I had to run to a shop after work to get the wax discs – and luckily the baking section in Sainsbury’s came through with a preserving pack which included the discs that I needed.

I’ll go straight out there and say this; nectarine jam is easy to make. I can’t speak for other jams but nectarine jam is quick and a pleasure to make. If you’re a novice jam maker, like me, but want to give it a go – try this one! Here’s how I did it.

Whirls-jam

Nectarine Jam  – makes around 500g

Ingredients

4 ripe nectarines

190g granulated sugar

2 tbsp lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon of spices, of your choice

Glass jars enough for 500g of jam

 

Directions

  • Chop but DON’T PEEL the nectarines, depends how chunky you want it
  • Put nectarines, sugar and lemon juice into a saucepan and simmer (high simmer-low boil) for 40 minutes
  • With 20-25 minutes to go – preheat oven to 130C/250F/1/2 gas mark and place clean glass jar in for 15-20 minutes
  • Add in spices of your choice – almond extract, vanilla extract, cinnamon, ginger – anything you like and cook for 5 minutes
  • Skim foam off surface
  • Remove jar from oven (with oven gloves please – we don’t want any hand burning accidents) and pour jam into jar, immediately place a wax disc on top to prevent mildew

And that is how I made easy peasy nectarine jam. With it practically being chop and leave – I still had time to do other stuff around it as my attention wasn’t particularly needed for it which also makes it a perfect recipe for me!

Toast-jam

Week three of Bake Off coming up, and it’s bread week. Does anyone have any suggestions of good (and easy – it’s a week day remember) bread recipes that you think would be good for me to have a go at?

20 thoughts on “Easy peasy nectarine jam. A jam for novices

  1. Ooh well done! I love viennese whirls – did they melt in the mouth?! and loving the nectarine jam OMG!

    Now the science bit… Pectin is present in some fruits and is a natural gelling agent, hence you can make jam. However some fruits don’t have much pectin so to make jam from them you need to add pectin as the gelling agent. Phew, where did that come from?!

    Anyway, bread – I recommend a focaccia bread. Dead simple as it doesn’t need to rise too much and you can add rosemary, cherry tomatoes, olive oil and sea-salt and stuff like that – and it’s fairly quick! 😉

    • Well I never knew that! Thank you – having this blog is so educational 😄 I’m forever learning new things, I love it! That sounds like a great suggestion, foccacia. I thought about making some sort of garlic bread to with a lasagne for dinner so I reckon I could make a nice one with the foccacia. Thanks as always Mikey! x

      • No worries – perfect with lasagne – give it a go, there are some good recipes out there for focaccia and you can make it how you like really. Enjoy!

      • Decided I couldn’t wait until Wednesday so I’ve made a big lasagne for tonight’s dinner (there’ll be more than enough left for Wednesday too) – plus – focaccia garlic bread (it’s proving in the airing cupboard as I type!!) and will freeze some of the dough for Wednesday’s dinner too. May have been hard work today but Wednesday will be super easy!

  2. I love that you don’t have all the fancy gadgets but still have a go. As a novice and fairly new baker myself, I haven’t got loads of expensive gadgets but my bakes still taste good and look as they should 🙂

    • Not sure if mine always look (or taste…) as they should but I like to feel as though I’m giving it all a good shot anyway – it’s impossible to have every gadget that you may use only once for a complicated recipe that’s never attempted again. Definitely best to do what you can with what you’ve got unless a new contraption will really make your life easier.

  3. Pingback: My disastrous bakes inspired by the Great British Bake Off, week-by-week | Lisa Tiller

Leave a Reply

