Home

Man these monthly posts come around quick. It’s been another busy one with lots of different projects on the go; perhaps a couple too many; but hey, I can rest when I’m dead, isn’t that how the saying goes? Film wise it’s been about average for the amount, and pretty poor for the quality. You’ll see what I mean:

  • Fast and Furious 6 – Vin Diesel does not get better at acting with age. So many flaws in this film – terrible.

Fast & Furious 6

  • Independence Day – The only thing to watch on 4th July.

Independence Day

  • The Last Samurai – Such an epic film with lots of good conversations.

The Last Samurai

  • Fast and Furious – Tokyo Drift – So terrible in so many ways, but it’s Tokyo and I’m having a Japan thing at the moment.

Fast & Furious Tokyo Drift

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I – Was feeling a bit blue so watched this to cheer myself up. It worked.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II – Well I’d already watched Part I, what was I meant to do, not watch it?!

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II

  • The Fast and the Furious – Didn’t want to enjoy this, but kinda did. A true guilty pleasure.

The Fast & the Furious

  • Tomorrow, When the War Began – Possibly not executed as well as it could’ve been. Perhaps I’ll give the book a go.

Tomorrow, When the War Began

  • Big Hero 6 – I wasn’t bothered about watching this…but ended up LOVING IT! San Fransokyo – brilliant!

Big Hero 6

 

  • 2 Fast 2 Furious – 2 shite.

2F2F

  • The Theory of Everything – A masterpiece. Didn’t think I’d get it, but I loved it.

TToE

Now I know what you’re thinking, that’s a lot of F&F, well, bear with me, each of these can be explained..but yes, it really was A LOT of F&F!

F&F6 was on Netflix and you know when you’re scrolling through and get bored/annoyed after a while of not finding anything and you get to the point of saying ‘fuck it, put anything on’ so you just click whatever you’re on – well that was F&F6.

F&F-Tokyo Drift was because Dan and I are currently planning our Japan trip for next year and wanted to watch something with Japan in it. Also true for The Last Samurai.

TF&TF was on TV one night and sometimes it’s just nice to relax and watch a film on TV, adverts and all.

2F2F again was on TV, a week after the first one. Dan wanted to watch it, but we both agreed it was simply awful.

See, all explainable.

My recommendations for this month would be The Theory of Everything, I genuinely sat and cried a little at the end as I felt so emotionally drained; and Big Hero 6. It’s classic Disney, not just for the kids. I laughed, I cried, I had a great time. If you have the chance to watch this one, do.

And that was my month in films. How about you? Seen any good films this month?

Until next time.

16 thoughts on “A very quick round up of the films I watched in July

    • Trust me, I know it doesn’t look it, but I’m not bothered about F&F either. Oh it was so good, if you get a chance to see it do – I saw it last night and I’ve still been thinking about it today!! It really moved me.

  1. I loved both Theory and BH6 as well. And I totally get the F&F thing – some are good, some are so bad they’re actually almost good. They’re just fun car movies…we’re not watching them for the acting lol I saw The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and loved it as much as the first one. Recommend if you like interesting characters and good writing.

    • Second best marigold hotel was brilliant! Made me want to go to India – never wanted to before I saw that film. Yeah I’m really not sure what I was watching those for tbh, I’m not a car person, I don’t like the actors, the stories are terrible – not sure what I was getting out of them 😂

  2. Lost in Translation is a movie my husband loves to watch every time he thinks about going to Japan. We went to Tokyo a couple years ago and he can’t wait to go back.
    Glad you enjoyed Big Hero 6 it’s so a cute movie. I’m going to have to try out The Theory of Everything

    • We were just talking about watching Lost in Translation again, think we may do soon. It’s been fun looking at all the places we could go, but sadly had to cut out loads of what we originally wanted to do – can’t do it all I suppose. Do you think you’ll go back soon? I would urge you to give Theory a watch – always careful to big-up films but this was something different, give it a go if you can. x

  3. Pitch perfect 2 was my favourite this month :)! But also i really liked Hector and the search for happiness even though i thought i’d hate it. It even inspired my blog post ‘100 things that make me happy’. x

  4. Really enjoy these posts Lisa 🙂 good summaries of some good films but I’d enjoy reading more on what you’d have to say about them. Also, good puns in there, enjoyed those haha x

Leave a Reply

