Home

Yes this will include more mentions of my cruise holiday – but that’s only because it’s where I read this one!

Now I know I said in my last book review of The Misbegotten by Katherine Webb that I had a couple of books to take away with me on my travels and neither were this one, but…well, I popped into a shop before I actually left Southampton and right in front of me was a copy of Agatha Christie’s Evil Under the Sun. What was I meant to do, not buy it?!

Evil Under the Sun

You may be aware that I quite like an Agatha Christie story, (or you may not, if not you obviously haven’t checked out my Twitter account), and there’s something in me that loves a bit of crime and murder – but in a family friendly way – which makes me the perfect audience for Agatha’s stories. Don’t get me wrong, I know that when you really look at what would’ve occurred if the stories were real, would be absolutely horrifying, but it’s all done in such a way that doesn’t make me want to hide my face and stick my fingers in my ears as I make ‘la la la la la” noises. I can enjoy the story.

And enjoy it I did. Covered in sun cream, rips, sand and remnants of cocktail spillages, this copy served me well on my holiday, and it certainly has the scars to prove it.

I must admit I don’t take a whole lot of notice of the descriptions of where the incidents occur and what timings matter in these cases – I think that’s why I’m not one of those types who tries to guess the culprit before the reveal – I just like to enjoy the story for what it is, entertainment.

Evil Under the Sun

Evil Under the Sun is about a group of people holidaying at the Jolly Roger Hotel, on the remote Smuggler’s Island. This helps keep the suspect numbers down at least. Among the group is a rather well-known Belgian detective by the name of Hercule Poirot, who is simply there to enjoy a bit of time off, or so he thinks.

Shock and or horror – there’s a murder! The resorts most self-obsessed guest is found strangled on the beach. But who could have possibly done it?

Evil Under the Sun

There are red herrings laid down beautifully in this intriguing story, enough to send even the most seasoned murder mystery readers crisscrossing over the wrong paths.

I have a soft spot for Miss Marple, she is my favourite Christie character and anything she is in is usually a winner, but I do think Evil Under the Sun may be my favourite Agatha Christie story of all. Apart from the very ending; that is just too 1920s for me. Sorry Aggie.

Evil Under the Sun

Do you enjoy a good murder mystery? Have you read this one or do you now fancy giving it a go? I’d love to know.

Next up is Double Indemnity by James M. Cain

One thought on “Evil Under the Sun – Agatha Christie – Review

  1. I read this on honeymoon in Greece and loved it; the holiday setting probably didnt hurt, but it also happens to be a superb example of everything Christie did so well. Glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

