Home

If you’ve read the first instalment of Be the Leading Lady of your own Life, then you’ll know all about the inspirational moment when I decided it was time for a change and set about to figuring out just exactly how as I going to finally become the leading lady in my own life story. If you haven’t read it or need a refresher session, do have a read of the original.

So. How have you all been getting on with becoming your own leading lady? That’s a real question, please do tell me : )

Me? I have to say I was actually doing really well. I was getting out there, giving my voice a bit of an exercise, and seeing things differently…I say was because I seem to have fallen into a bit of a slump at the moment. I’ve had a couple of unexpected situations knock me but I am determined to recover and pull myself back up again; and that is the reason for this new post.

I know I’ve not reached the goal line yet and am in need of a bit more inspiration, so I figured perhaps others are in need of it too. Over the last few months I have gone back and re-read the original post to reaffirm all the positive messages and extracts in my mind (and to have a mini fix of The Holiday), and as good as those messages are – I think it’s about time for some newbies. I have once again researched my way into finding more examples of empowerment that we can learn from. And here they are:

  • heroine

    [her-oh-in] 
    noun

    1. a woman of distinguished courage or ability, admired for her brave deeds and noble qualities.

    2. the principal female character in a story, play, film, etc.

We need to be learning from these inspirational figures. Whether from books, films, TV shows, or someone in your life that you see as a heroine – learn from them. Really try to figure out what it is about them that makes you see them as a strong female, then emulate those specific traits where you can. You’ll soon learn how to make them your own and perhaps you’ll be inspiring someone else along the way. One character I would urge you to take stock of is Schatze Page in ‘How to Marry a Millionaire’. Made in 1953, the story’s not of consequence and Schatze’s moral compass is not what we’re looking at either. It’s the way she handles and holds herself that we’re interested in here, someone who knows what she wants and isn’t afraid to go for it.

  • “I think the time has come for you to shed some of your humility. It is just as false not to blow your own horn at all as it is to blow it too loudly…We all come into this world with our little egos equipped with individual horns. If we don’t blow them – who will?” – Addison DeWitt [All About Eve, 1950]

Screaming our talents from the rooftops isn’t something we need to be doing all the time. We all know one of those types and although it’s good they’re confident about themselves, constantly shoving their greatness in our faces becomes tiresome white noise. But by boosting our egos and reminding ourselves of our strengths and congratulating ourselves on a job well done, then when that profitable moment comes and we need to blow our own horns, we will stand on the very edge of that rooftop, megaphone in hand, and dazzle all who listen with our story.

  • “YOU size YOUR giants.” – Pastor Jack R.Pidgeon

I don’t know what context this quote has been taken out of – so I can only tell you what I have taken it to mean. We are all equal. We give people their stature and power over us in our own minds. It is us who build them up and seat them in their lofty positions. We all live, we all die and we are not above or below anyone else. Mentally seating those individuals firmly back next to us, we can see them as they truly are, on our level and equal. I suppose this could also be true for life’s obstacles, we get to decide how big a challenge something is. Will we let ourselves be crushed or deal with it, learn from it and move on?

  • “Stop wearing your wishbone where your backbone ought to be.” – Elizabeth Gilbert

Harsh but also fair. Nothing was ever achieved by simply wishing for it, hard work is the only way to get things done. So let’s get to it!

  • “If you don’t turn your life into a story, you just become a part of someone else’s story.” – Terry Pratchett

A similar ethos to the quote I used from Emma Watson’s gender equality speech to the UN in the original post, but a different angle from the late, great Terry Pratchett who could not be accused of just being a part of someone else’s story. Shouldn’t we all be living a life ready for the day when Steve Spielberg wants to direct a film about it?

  • “Some people are so resistant to other people’s success that on a certain level, it reminds them of their shortcomings and missed opportunities” – Keepinspiring.me

Another good one is “Don’t let the muggles get you down.” – J.K.Rowling. Not everyone is going to support you in your rise to starring role, and deep down you know you don’t need those people in your life dragging you down. It’s important at this time to surround yourself with aspirational and positive people who will help lift you up.

  • If I were a genie and could grant you one wish, what would your wish be?

This is a question I asked myself and I believe that a leading lady should be decisive enough to answer this. Her answer may be different every time but for that moment she should believe whole heartedly in the answer she is giving. I haven’t yet managed to answer this decisively, so I know I still have a way to go.

 

And there we go. Act 2 of Be the Leading Lady of your own Life. I hope there’s some more inspirational stuff in there for you as there is for me; a personal favourite is the sub quote “Don’t let the muggles get you down.” It makes me laugh and makes the world seem a little friendlier.

As I said, I would love to hear how you guys are getting on too if you’d care to share?

So then, let’s get this thing back on track!

13 thoughts on “Be the Leading Lady of your own Life – Act 2

  1. Hmmm?! I can’t be the leading lady of my own life… (only at weekends!) *only joking* No, really, only joking! But I have made strides in being the leading ‘role’ in my own life, if that counts, by doing this blog for example. I started in Jan – I just really wanted to do it and It’s a way for me to be…well, me! A sort of positive reinforcement of who I am, what I’m good at and what I represent as me. The lovely comments and likes are a testimony to that. I think we can all identify with this, right?! 🙂

  2. I love your post on this. I love that line from the Holiday. I am bettering myself by finishing up school this year for a 2 yr degree to be a paralegal. I also have somehow decided to learn how to play the guitar. I also in what little spare time I have work on my blog. So I am striving to be the leading lady in my life!

    • That really sounds like you know what you want and aren’t afraid to go for it – exactly how I picture a leading lady to be, good on you!! Thanks for the kind words and I wish you the best of luck!

  3. I got to a point where I just was tired of putting myself down. I was tired of having no control, so I realized: I don’t have control when it comes to others. But I do have control within me, my life.
    The greatest control was to fully accept myself for who I am. Let myself feel when I do, let myself love when not returned, give and expect nothing.
    I also saw this article/video: http://thespiritscience.net/2014/12/31/the-secret-to-becoming-the-new-you-right-now/
    which is a bit too spiritual for my liking in some areas, but it has some great points. I love the way he describes our past and future. It is a good reminder that we ARE in charge of our lives, so let’s be the leading role in our own story (as you write). 🙂

    But it’s a long and hard road forward and it took me years and many downfalls before I reached a point where change was inevitable. Maybe this new me will only last a while, maybe I’ve finally found strength. Only time will tell and I’ve found peace with that.

    Thank you for your post, it’s great to see people spread inspiration and motivation. 🙂

    • I’m glad you’ve got yourself to a point where you feel you can take control and let you just be you. They say it takes 20…odd days to create a habit so if you’ve been thinking in your new way for a while then I’m sure you’ll be getting yourself strong enough to face anything life throws at you. Thank you for your kind words and for stopping by x

Leave a Reply

