Home

January has just flown by and to be honest, some of these films are a blur – it’s a good job I write these ‘reviews’ just after I’ve watched them – otherwise I’d have no hope at remembering what I’ve seen.

We’ve got a lot to get through, so let’s get to it!

  • Saving Mr Banks – It will make you see Mary Poppins and the Banks family in a whole new light.

SMB

  • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes – Relly enjoyed this, make sure you’ve seen Rise of the Planet of the Apes first though for details to make sense.

DawnPA

  • His Girl Friday – The story is a bit wet but Hildy Johnson is an inspiration for strong females.

HisGirlFriday

  • Sorry, Wrong Number – Meant to be a film with a strong female lead, I disagree. But the ending, woah.

SorryWrongNo

  • The First Wives Club – Revenge doesn’t give you what you want. A feel good film to the end.

FirstWC

  • Godzilla – A typical smash-em-up Saturday night film. Not as much Godzilla in it as I imagined though.

Godzilla

  • The Children’s Hour – Man the 60s was a harsh time to live. Will also make you not want children.

ChildsHour

  • The Grand Budapest Hotel – I’m sorry but I don’t get the hype that surrounds this film. However I loved the way it was shot.

Budapest

  • Transformers Age of Extinction – Bad casting for the story they were trying to put across, in my opinion. One too many Transformers films. Time to give it up?

TransformersAge

  • Populaire – Found myself routing for the heroin in a typing competition! The one good thing about watching a foreign film (it’s French), there’s no half watching/half on my phone, subtitles need the full attention.

Populaire

  • The Enforcer – I loved this! Full of suspense and intrigue. One to give a go.

Enforcer

  • Frozen Ground – So sad that this was based on a true story. Absolutely gripping.

FrozenGround

  • X:Men Days of Future Past – Confusing title but I really enjoyed this one. Brought the series full-circle.

XMen

  • Mr Morgan’s Last Love – Charming, if not for Mr Morgan’s dodgy accent…

MrM

  • Detective Story – Quite a powerful look into life in the fifties. If only he’d clocked off for the night.

Detective

  • Stolen – Hmm. It’s a Nick Cage film so you know what to expect really. Terrible music, just terrible.

Stolen

  • Shaun of the Dead – Still so funny, even after all these times of watching it.

ShaunDead

  • World War Z – I liked it. Yes there were some ‘really?!’ moments but overall it was an enjoyable watch.

WWZ

 

So, out of the films I’ve watched in January (the one’s that must be good as they’ve stuck with me), the one’s I would say to try out would be Saving Mr Banks, The Enforcer and Frozen Ground.

How about you, have you seen any good films this month you’d recommend? Or even know of some awful films that should be avoided at all cost? Let me know.

I’m half-thinking about doing my monthly film round-up differently and using my new video account for it…not sure though. But just to warn you, this may look slightly different next time. May. May not.

Until next time.

22 thoughts on “A very quick round up of the films I’ve watched in January

    • You’re not late at all 😀 No I haven’t seen that one, is something I’d like to see though. Hopefully it’ll be on Netflix at some point and I’ll get to see it. Thanks for stopping by x

  1. Since you are obviously wanting to practice and improve on your video presentations, I think movie, book, product and other reviews would be good areas for you to do in video. Good Luck. You will be fantastic.

    • Ha, I need to cut down on the amount of films I watch! Can’t wait for lighter days to be here again so I can go out and do more stuff than just stay in watching films (obviously I do more than just that but I do manage to watch way too many sometimes). Have you got any you’ve been dying to see but haven’t gotten round to? I’d start with those x

Leave a Reply

