Home

I was supposed to do a post-Christmas blog showing off the lovely gifts I was given and to tell you all about the fun times we had, but well, I didn’t get around to it. And, fear not, I’m not about to do one now either – who wants to read about that this far into the new year?!. But, one of the (amazing) presents that I got from Dan was tickets to go and see the show STOMP in London.

STOMP is something that I have wanted to go and see for a very long time. For those of you that don’t know what it is, it’s a show involving a group of people who make music using any old bits of rubbish. A half empty box of matches, some old plumbing tubes, that plastic bag you got from food shopping, yeah, they’ll make music from all that crap.

I remember first seeing a sample of their show on a charity programme, probably BBC’s Children in Need, and being so awe inspired by the genius-ness of what they were doing – I thought ‘I want to do that when I grow up’. Of course it never happened, I don’t have a rhythmic bone in my body for starters, but seeing the show live in action is still something that has stayed with me all this time.

And 2015 is the year that Dan made it possible for me! Technically 2014 as it was a Christmas gift but whatever.

STOMP-US

There really is only one way to describe STOMP. IT WAS FREAKING AWESOME!!

To say – I loved it – would be an understatement. It was so clever. It was a musical (just without any singing), a sketch show, a comedy and a dance show all rolled into one. There were no words spoken yet somehow it was hilarious!

So what did they make music from? I hear you ask. What didn’t they! Oil drums, drinking straws, newspapers, brooms, anything you can think of – they even threw in the kitchen sink, quite literally. A whole number was performed just using zippo lighters – they managed to create actual music from opening and closing lighters. Oh, and, of course, there was a lot of stomping…obviously.

STOMP stage

STOMP stage

Visually it was utterly enthralling too. Just watching the eight performers on stage do their own part to make up the bigger picture was amazing. The planning that must go into each number…well…I can’t even begin to imagine.

I suppose all I can really say on it is, if you get a chance to go – please do!

Thank you so much to Dan for fulfilling this dream of mine. That’s one more to cross off the Bucket List.

Right then, where’s my broom? I have a feeling household chores will become a bit more interesting from now on…

13 thoughts on “Bucket List – See STOMP live in London

  1. Ok, I am so gonna steal your “bucket list” idea ! I’ve never done one before, but since I saw the movie is something that I’ve wanted to do.

  2. Pingback: Updating the Bucket List | Lisa Tiller

Leave a Reply

