Home

Late to the party, I know. But I’ve just started watching Mad Men, and honestly, so far, I do not see what all the hype is about. At all. I’m one episode away from the end of the first series and keep being told to stick with it as it ‘gets brilliant’…I say again, I’m one episode away from the end of the first series. It’s like True Blood all over again – that was terrible but I watched the whole first series as it was meant to ‘get really good’ and well, it didn’t.

But I’ve bought the first three series’ of Mad Men on recommendation alone so I will be watching all of these.

Anyway, the point of this post was to tell you about an outfit that I cannot get out of my head.

Midge Daniels (played by Rosemarie Dewitt – if you’re at a loss of who either of these are, look to the top of the page) in the very first episode. So simple yet so effective. A man’s white shirt tied at the waist with black cropped trousers. I really want to steal this style – regardless of whether it’s in vogue or not, I love it. I have neither of these items in my wardrobe at the moment, but I highly doubt it will take much to get these in there.

This will be a good Saturday style I think. Sophisticated and laid back all at the same time, perfect.

The rest of her outfits get a bit – meh – for me after this point, maybe that’s why it’s stayed with me so well.

One other thing with Mad Men, I thought I was going to fall in love with the costumes. I usually love 1950s/60s style outfits but apart from Midge’s from the first episode – I’ve not longed for any of their ensembles. Well, none that have stuck in my mind at least.

What do you think? Have I missed any other good ones or do the clothes get better as the series’ go on?

I’ll keep you posted on whether I manage to steal this style.

Until next time.

6 thoughts on “Style genius – simple but effective

      • I am on season 1 Episode 5. I am liking it. Every episode further develops the characters. I like the mix of male and female characters. I am keeping my eyes open to the fashion too and I like a few pieces but I hate those pointy bras and How they make the breasts look, especially under a sweater.

  1. I don’t know what to tell you, as soon as I saw the 1st episode of mad men I was hooked, I can’t believe it, but maybe you won’t like it! I’ll give you my take on it…it’s so true to the 60s that it spooked me, & that’s exactly what people were like & what they wore. I’ve seen all the episodes on tv but it was a while ago now.

Leave a Reply

