Home

To be honest, I don’t have a lot to say about this book. I liked the end and I liked a bit in the middle of the story, apart from that – man am I glad The Graduate by Charles Webb was only a small book.

Obviously I wasn’t around in the sixties so I don’t know what it was like – the review quote on the front of the book says the story captured the era well (or something like that) – but to me the characters seemed quite pathetic and whether that’s the ‘era’ or the writing, I don’t know.

Names are completely overused in this. The characters say each others names at least every other sentence which is tedious (I can follow who’s talking, I don’t need to be reminded every two seconds) and as I say, the characters were pathetic and didn’t have any real substance for me. Is that the point of the book? To show that none of us have any real substance? I don’t know. Maybe I’ve missed something. Then again, maybe I haven’t.

I’d still like to see the film version just for comparison but I’m not holding out much hope.

I’d be really interested to hear what you have to say about this one. Have you read it? What was your take on it?

On with the next one which will be The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson.

6 thoughts on “The Graduate – review

  1. Hi Lisa I haven’t read the book but the film portrays exactly how things were at the time. People were more polite & they did say names a lot more then. They do it in the film too it is a kind of stylisation of the time. While the plot may appear dated now, enjoy another era & give it a try, it really is a fabulous film 😉

    • On your recommendation Jane I will definitely make sure I give the film a go. Unfortunately it’s not on Netflix at the moment but hopefully it will be soon so I can have a watch. Thanks for stopping by x

  2. I agree with your book review; the novel feels more like a draft of a script than anything else. The good news is that this makes for an excellent film – I don’t usually say this, but the film is so much better than the book!

  3. Pingback: Double Indemnity – James M. Cain – Review | Lisa Tiller

Leave a Reply

