Home

This month’s list isn’t quite the full extent of what I’ve seen as I thought there’s not much point adding in all the Christmas ones. There was a lot. Take a look at my list of top ten Christmas films, then add in a few more and you get the picture. So I’ve taken the liberty of only including the non-Christmas films in this round-up. After all, who wants to hear more about Christmas?

  • Lord of the Rings – I watched all three. I remember going to the cinema to see these as they were released and I still love them. The special effects don’t look as good now but the story is on form and the Orcs are still terrifying.

 

  • The Hobbit the Battle of the Five Armies – I liked it, I was a bit disappointed with the ending but overall I liked it.

 

  • The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe – A good family film, just look past some of the acting.

 

  • The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian – Quite a good sequel but preferred the first one, it felt more magical.

 

  • E.T. – Still a great film! Brought a few tears to my eyes…yes I’m a bit of a sap.

 

  • The Muppets – So much better than I was expecting, I would happily watch this again.

 

  • The Secret Life of Walter Mitty – WATCH IT. WATCH IT. WATCH IT. This film made me so happy, the soundtrack was great too! Inspirational.

 

  • Gulliver’s Travels – A bit cheesy and was rather sad I was a Jack Black film that wasn’t The Holiday, but good fun all the same.

 

  • Mr Popper’s Penguins – Fine to have on in the background…whilst you’re doing something else…anything else.

 

And that was (near enough) my December 2014 in films. Out of those, you may be able to guess already but, I’d recommend The Secret Life of Walter Mitty as one to watch. The scenery alone is amazing. If you’ve slightly got the travelling bug, it’ll all but make you pack your bags.

I’d like to say thank you to everyone who has read any of my posts since I began my blog earlier this year and for all the kind comments and likes I’ve received. It means a lot to know that something I am doing for myself has pleased others along the way. Well, here’s to 2015 and new beginnings. x

 

9 thoughts on “A very quick round up of the films I’ve watched in December

  1. You watched Mitty as well 🙂 🙂 It was a surprise, moreso because the film didn’t get much publicity around here.

    Lovely blog. Will be coming around more often 🙂

    • Thank you! I did, I did. Loved it. Have signed up to Spottify premium just so I can listen to the two different soundtracks for the film too. Quite inspirational. Thanks again x

  2. Definitely going to watch “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” to understand more about that travelling bug some friends and amazing personas like you seem to share. Thanks for key.

  3. Mitty was great, a really beautiful use of music to complement what was going on onscreen.
    I remember watching the original with Danny Kaye over and over as a kid. The two movies are nothing alike.

    • I only found out the other day that there was an original Mitty! I did wonder how they could possibly be similar due to the time difference. Would you recommend watching the original?

      • It’s hard to say, really. When I was a kid, I used to watch films with my late father, who had grown up during the war. He enjoyed Marx Brothers, Danny Kaye, Gene Kelly, James Bond, Carry On, and my sister and I watched these with him.

        It’s a bit like trying to compare big band music to rap; they are products of a different generation.

        Short answer – probably not.

Leave a Reply

