Home

It’s that time again, saying goodbye to one year and welcoming in another. 2014 has been and gone, it truly is scary how fast time flies now.

It’s been a good year filled with lots of good things, some totally shit, but mainly good which is more than I could’ve asked for. I’ve had some lovely holidays, knocked some points off my bucket list, met some great people, shared happy and sad times with friends and family, and am on the way with my marketing course to a better future career.

My resolutions for 2014 were:

  • Change my thinking pattern – “always look on the bright side of life”.

My thinking pattern is much improved to what it was this time last year. Last year was a difficult year, not for any particular reason, I just seemed to not cope very well. I would go so far as to say I was depressed but I never went to the doctor about it so I can’t say for certain. All I knew was that I had to do something about it and change the way I see life. I am well on my way to this and can now see the ‘challenges’ in life rather than the ‘blockages’. If you know what I mean.

  • Finish a project if I start one – but realise that it doesn’t have to be perfect.

Ha! If you are a regular reader of my blog, you know I haven’t accomplished this. I started a new story idea which I haven’t continued writing for quite a while now, I didn’t even get past the first stage of learning to crochet,  my baking obsession has died down, do I really need to name more?

  • Enjoy this year by doing lots or doing absolutely nothing, if that’s what’s I really want to do.

We have to cherish the time we have and live in the now to make the most of our lives. I have taken up meditation in which a big part of it is teaching you to be ‘in the now’ and not wish to be off someplace else, wherever you are. Again, I am making progress.

Two out of three ain’t bad I’d say. A successful year on the whole. Now comes the new year.

My resolutions for 2015 are:

How will I do this? By learning from the best. I will take inspiration where I can find it, from the women around me, from strong female leads in films and books, and above all practise.

  • To complete my meditation and yoga exercise every day. Gaining a balance in both my body and mind.

How will I do this? I have my Headspace app to help me with my meditation practice and a ‘Yoga for Dummies’ dvd to help me with the basics. Neither take very long so as long as I persevere and get these done EVERY DAY then I have accomplished the important things.

  • To get my Digital Marketing diploma. Help to propel my career further.

There are three modules to my course which I am undertaking at separate times. I thought it would be a walk in the park – how wrong I was. It’s expensive, it’s difficult and I both love it and hate it all at the same time. I have five years in which to finish it but really hope I will have completed all three modules by this time next year – or at least two of them.

 

That is what will be driving my 2015. I don’t think they’re unachievable goals, I will just perhaps have to remind myself to keep going with them. But I’m quite excited for it.

We will be finishing this year in Bristol with the new friends we made on our holiday earlier in the year, I can’t wait. Whatever you are doing for New Year’s Eve and whoever you are spending it with, enjoy it and don’t be afraid to open yourself up to the new opportunities that 2015 will bring.

Happy New Year! x

18 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. ‘Finish a project if I start one – but realise that it doesn’t have to be perfect’ – I have a lot of problems with this one too! If I do finish one but feel that it’s not perfect in some way, I feel like it doesn’t count. I’ve been constantly reminding myself in the past year that there’s beauty in imperfections too, and through these imperfect but completed projects I get better at whatever I’m doing. By treating these projects as ‘practice’, I tend to be less hard on myself when I don’t do as well as I’d hoped.

    • There’s also a saying – which I think explains a lot “a true artist never completes their work. ” Therefore if we only get things to a point of – that’ll do – we must truly be artists. Silver linings. Good luck with your projects x

Leave a Reply

