Home

I was determined to get this one finished before Christmas. I find there’s nothing worse than having to still do something Christmassey once it’s all over and done with (obviously there’s far worse things in this world, but hey, it’s a figure of speech).

I love Christmas and the build up to it, things seem so full of joy and hope and all the wonder of what might be, it feels almost magical. Once that Big Day hits, that’s it. It’s all over and I want nothing more than to get on with my life again, forget that Christmas has been and gone and for it to be Summer, or at least Spring. So having to continue reading a Christmas book – when Christmas is over – is a big no for me, I’d rather just stop reading the thing.

But there is no fear of any of that here for I have finished it! With plenty of time too.

What did I think of Jenny Colgan’s Christmas at Rosie Hopkins’ Sweetshop? I thought it was alright, pretty good, nothing ground-breaking – but what is these days? (Feel free to let me know of anything newly ground-breaking in the literary world.)

I had never read any Jenny Colgan so I wasn’t sure whether I’d like her writing style or not, but I did. This was a ‘stand-alone’ sequel to Rosie Hopkins’ Sweetshop of Dreams with a little explanation at the front of the characters’ past goings on to catch you up, however I still think reading the other one first would have been helpful with some of the bits in this story.

It had highs and lows taking you along with it, we have disasters, past loves, new life and of course sweets in the story of this book which I was getting into, until one small – some may even say insignificant – detail that threw me and completely halted the flow of the book.

A name suddenly changes in the story. It’s only for about one page, perhaps two, but it still made me wonder; how quick was this book produced and shipped out to make money that meant no one took any real notice of the story and the details in it? It may sound overly dramatic, after all it’s just one name changing from Hester to Esther, a simple mix-up, but I felt duped.

Do you know what I was picturing? The scene from Elf when the book publishers realise there’s two whole pages missing from a children’s story book and they run the print anyway. Cheated is how I felt. If they don’t care about the details and characters in their story, then why should I?

As I said, you may think that’s overly dramatic, mistakes happen, but who was proof reading it?

Back to the rest of the story, there were a lot of names/characters which was quite hard to keep up with – then again it’s a story about a village so there probably should be a lot of names. Thinking about it, I don;t really have a lot more to say about the story – so what does that tell you?

Would I recommend Christmas at Rosie Hopkins’ Sweetshop? After everything I’ve said, yes. But perhaps read them in the order they were written so you can get a better understanding of the village life and the goings on, then ignore the name changing part as the rest of it is quite good. Some parts just mill along but with the highs and lows within the story you kind of need that.

Have you read it? What are your thoughts of this one?

Well, I’m glad that’s over. Maybe I’ll try to squeeze in a reading of Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol before the bells toll for Christmas Day.

 

One thought on “Christmas at Rosie Hopkins’ Sweetshop – review

  1. Pingback: A minimalist Christmas this year | Lisa Tiller

Leave a Reply

