Home

I really like Christmas. I really like it. I like wrapping up warm when it’s cold outside, I like all the twinkling lights that are absolutely everywhere, I like the food – every night’s a party food night in my house, I like getting dressed up in posh sparkly clothes, I like the extra time spent with friends and family, I like the music, the Christmas spirit and I like Christmas films. In fact I don’t like it all, I love it all, Christmas films especially!

So much so that  I will be counting down my top ten Christmas films. Confession time, it was going to be my top five, but I had too many that I wanted to mention. I know some people will scream at me for not including their faves and some for including certain ones that I have, but this is my list of the ones I love!

 

10. JINGLE ALL THE WAY

JINGLE ALL THE WAY

The film: Remember the crazy year when Buzz Lightyear toys were all the rage? Fights broke out in shops all over the country for the ‘must-have’ toy of the year, parents shamelessly fighting each other for the last one in store? Well, ‘Jingle All the Way’ has Arnold Schwarzenegger in this same predicament. A Turbo Man action figure is the toy every child wants and when Arnie promises his son one for Christmas, he is unaware of just how impossible that is. Determined to not let his son down, he will stop at nothing to get the toy in time for Christmas Day.

Why I like it: It pokes fun at how ludicrous shopping for Christmas can get and the materialistic view that overtakes this season. A bit of fun.

 

9. MIRACLE ON 34TH STREET

MIRACLE ON 34TH STREET

The film: Kris Kringle becomes the very popular Santa for a department store, attracting record business for the store, to the annoyance of a rival retailer. They then hatch a devious plan to rid themselves of the stiff competition and only a miracle can save the day.

Why I like it: It’s a bit cheesy and starting to date, but it’s a real ‘feel-good’ film and oh-so Christmassy it hurts.

 

8. THE MUPPET CHRISTMAS CAROL

Muppet-Christmas-Carol

The film: We all know Charles Dickens’ famous Christmas story, there’s the miser, the ghosts and Tiny Tim. Ebenezer Scrooge is taken on a journey to see his past, present and future to fix the error of his ways before it’s too late. But as it’s the Muppets, we know there must be more to it. Humour, Miss Piggy and sing-a-long songs are what’s in store for you with this one.

Why I like it: I know the songs, all of them, and a lot of the words too. I’ve seen it a lot. It’s one from my childhood and reminds me of my sisters so it’s one I will happily watch year after year with a big smile on my face.

 

7. CHRISTMAS WITH THE KRANKS

CHRISTMAS WITH THE KRANKS

The film: Christmas is for the young ones, is what they say, and when Luther and Nora Krank’s daughter fly’s the nest, they decide that skipping Christmas and going on holiday is the best way to subside their winter blues. But will it all go as planned?

Why I like it: I admit, the sentiment of the film is a little far-fetched but, it’s a wholesome family film filled with morals of doing things for others. But putting that aside, for me, it has some genuinely funny bits, Tim Allen gets botox, for one.

 

6. SCROOGED

SCROOGED

The film: A modern (a-hem) take on the Dickens’ classic “A Christmas Carol”. Frank Cross is a high-flying TV network producer who has forgotten about the ‘little people’ who helped him get to the top.

He is nasty, mean-spirited and everything you need for a Scrooge-like character. He is visited by his old dead boss and three ghosts; all on Christmas eve – all whilst producing a live action Christmas Special. Let the good times roll.

Why I like it: Bill Murray is hilarious. Hilarious. I don’t think this film will ever get old. Dickens’ classic story is a favourite the world over (heck, I’ve got two versions of it in my list), it’s simplistic yet clever and for me, seeing mean people change their ways, makes me hopeful for certain people…

 

5. ELF

ELF

The film: An orphan baby crawls into Santa’s bag one Christmas eve, and is then raised by Papa Elf in the North Pole. Buddy quickly out-grows his elf classmates and finds the jobs that come naturally to elves, don’t come naturally to him. He realises he may not be of elf-kind and leaves the North Pole to find his real dad in New York City.

On his adventure, Buddy is shown how little Christmas spirit there is in the world and sets out to teach the true meaning of Christmas and that Santa really exists!

Why I like it: It’s a fun and heart-warming tale about someone trying to find where they truly belong. Yes it’s a children’s story essentially (aren’t they all?), but it’s got plenty of jokes and a well written script to keep the whole family entertained.

 

4. HOME ALONE 2 – LOST IN NEW YORK

HOME ALONE

The film: Kevin McCallister doesn’t seem to have much luck with his Christmas holidays, at least this time he’s remembered long enough by his family to get him to the airport! But Kevin mistakingly ends up in New York City whilst his family flies to Florida. Armed with his dad’s cash and credit cards, it’s the perfect vacation, that is until two familiar faces turn up. The Wet Bandits have broken out of jail and are planning a holiday heist, and it’s up to Kevin to stop them once again. What are the chances?

Why I like it: It’s New York City at Christmas time! If you’ve seen my bucket list then you’ll know that this is something I want to see in my lifetime, for real. Plus, It’s all the fun of the first film but with 5* service. Bonus!

 

3. THE SANTA CLAUSE

SANTA CLAUSE

The film: Another Tim Allen Christmas encounter, but this time we see him as Scott Calvin, a less than perfect divorced father, donning the red suit after Santa falls off his roof. It’s down to Scott and his son Charlie to deliver the rest of the gifts in time for Christmas Day. Was it a dream or did it really happen? Either way Scott’s waistline is changing, but that could just be down to his new diet of milk and cookies.

Why I like it: It’s another one that has been a big part of my Christmas routine growing up, I’ve seen it a lot but still find it just as entertaining as ever. There’s been three or four more made of this franchise since, but the original is by far the best.

 

2. THE HOLIDAY

THE HOLIDAY

The film: Kate Winslet and Cameron Diaz are fed up with their lives and want to get away from it all for Christmas. A new town where no one knows your name, we see Kate and Cameron swapping houses for the holidays and try to become the people they want to be.

Why I like it: “You, I can tell, are a leading lady, but for some reason you are behaving like the best friend.” Feels like a bit of a kick up the arse every time I watch this film. I’ve seen it countless times yet it still makes me laugh and cry in all the right places.

 

1. LOVE ACTUALLY

LOVE ACTUALLY

The film: Love is hectic enough, adding Christmas into the mix is just asking for trouble. We follow the lives of ten people in the run up to Christmas and watch the ups and downs of their intertwining relationships.

Why I like it: This film always puts the biggest smile on my face, I can’t hide it. It’s funny, it’s silly and makes me forget everything else for roughly two hours. I know it’s quite a marmite film, but I love it and seriously have to stop myself from watching it at any other time than Christmas – and from watching it straight away after it’s just finished. My fave.

 

Well there you have it, my top 10 Christmas films all laid out for you.

What are your favourite Christmas films? Have I missed yours?

8 thoughts on “My top 10 Christmas films

  1. I love Home Alone (the first one) and even though its not christmassy they always seem to show Casper over the xmas hols. I am such a big child! Love christmas films. Fab list. Merry christmas to you!

    • I do like the first home alone too…perhaps I should change my list up a bit. LOTR is one for me that I like to watch over Christmas even though it’s not christmassy.Thanks for reading and merry Christmas to you too!! x

  2. I’m thrilled to see there are other crazy people out there who love to watch Love Actually every Christmas. Thought there was only a few of us left! Ha ha

  3. Pingback: A very quick round up of the films I’ve watched in December | Lisa Tiller

  4. Pingback: A minimalist Christmas this year | Lisa Tiller

Leave a Reply

