Home

I knew what I was letting myself in for before I’d even began reading this book. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies – it was obvious. The story we all know and love with a few zombie references shoe-horned in.

Shoe-horned was right. Frankly it was exhausting. I found myself physically rolling my eyes after a while when these ‘references’ popped up. Here’s a zombie. There’s a zombie. Where’s my sword? Oh there’s another zombie. Have a swift kick. There’s a herd of zombies. ATTACK!! And let’s cripple Wickham whilst we’re at it. It wasn’t always a seamless inclusion of the story, let’s put it that way.

In this alternate universe, The Bennet sisters are zombie warriors with Elizabeth the most fiercest of them all. This Elizabeth has been trained in China in the ‘deadly arts’ under Master Liu and has no worries about killing people – zombified or not – even to the extent of ripping a man’s still beating heart from his chest and taking a bite. Yeah.

I know it’s meant to be a light-hearted mix up of Austen’s classic tale but…perhaps I’m too close to the original to appreciate this. Or perhaps it would have been better if the whole thing had been re-written and put into the new author’s voice, as appose to just bits of it. Either way, it wasn’t for me. I’m sticking with the original.

Saying that though, I would recommend this book if you haven’t read Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice and don’t know much about the story to begin with; you may be able to enjoy it for the foolish nonsense that it is.

But anyway it’s not one that’s going onto my ‘to re-read’ pile.

 

Next for something that could potentially be worse, ‘From Notting Hill with Love Actually…’ by Ali McNamura. It’s coming up to Christmas and it’s got snowflakes on the front cover – what else would do?

5 thoughts on “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies – review

  1. How interesting, I thought the book was better if you were familiar with the original (I’ve read P&P at least 6 times), and therefore could tell what (besides the zombies) had been changed. I remember thinking it was very funny – and considerably better “seamed” together than “Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters” – take my advice, if you didn’t like P&P&Z, don’t go there.

    • I do know others who have adored this book, that’s why I thought I’d give it a go – but I guess it just wasn’t my cup of tea. Thanks for the tip about the other in the series, I was going to give it a go as I don’t know this story as well. Maybe I just won’t put it on the top of my reading list…

Leave a Reply

