Home

Before making these you may want to ask yourself a question; do you have the right equipment?

A few weeks ago I tried making some viennese whirls and found it very difficult. But I didn’t know why. I can only put it down to the equipment I had at the time (no food processor or piping bag), I used a electric whisk which broke whilst mixing the dough. Something just wasn’t working for me and I struggled.

Since then I have dug out my food processor and bought myself a piping kit. I decided to try again with the whirls.

This time I had no problems and found them both easy and fun to make. So as long as you have a food processor (an electric whisk won’t cut it – trust me) and a piping bag, you’ll be fine.

Once again, I have to apologise for the quality of my photos…it’s a new phone, not used to it blah blah blah.

Right, let’s do this!

 

Viennese Whirls

Ingredients

  • For the biscuits:

250g Butter

250g Plain flour

50g Icing sugar

50g Cornflour

1/2 tsp Vanilla extract

  • For the filling:

100g Butter

200g Icing Sugar (plus extra for dusting)

1/2 tsp Vanilla extract

75g Jam (any you fancy but make sure it’s smooth)

VW-2

Leave more space than this between your piped rosettes!

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 190C/375F/Gas Mark 5
  • Line a baking tray with baking paper
  • In a food processor put the plain flour, cornflour, icing sugar, butter and vanilla extract. Blend together until it makes a smooth dough.
  • Spoon the dough into a piping bag fitted with a large star nozzle.
  • Pipe rosettes with the dough, spacing well apart (I didn’t and mine all stuck together in the oven!!)
  • Place the biscuits into the centre of the oven for 13-15 minutes or until just turning in colour (they should be pale).
  • Remove from the oven and leave to cool on the baking tray for five minutes before transferring the biscuits to a cooling rack.
  • Repeat with the remaining dough to make as many biscuits as you can.
  • For the filling, mix the icing sugar, butter and vanilla extract using an electric whisk until light and smooth (this is your butter icing).
  • Put the jam in a bowl and stir until smooth then spoon a little jam onto the flat side of half of the biscuits you have made.
  • With the other half of the biscuits (the non-jammed biscuits) you will want to spoon or pipe the butter icing onto the flat side of these.
  • Sandwich a butter icing and jam biscuit together, dust with icing sugar. Repeat.

VW-3

VW-4

 

Let me warn you, these are super crumbly! As you can most probably tell from the photos…They need the lightest of touch to make sure they keep their shape and don’t crumble. But even if they do, they may not look how you wanted – but my god – they will still taste just as great as you hoped!

5 thoughts on “Viennese Whirls

  1. Pingback: Easy peasy nectarine jam. A jam for novices | Lisa Tiller

  2. Pingback: My disastrous bakes inspired by the Great British Bake Off, week-by-week | Lisa Tiller

Leave a Reply

