Home

It may appear that lately I have become a little bit obsessed with baking biscuits. This is true.

My Sundays now include a couple of hours set aside for baking. And generally it tends to be biscuits. Why? Because they’re easy, satisfying (everyone loves a good biscuit) and useful. Yes useful. They last well – anything up to a couple of weeks (in the case of my first batch of peanut butter cookies, they lasted about a month before we ran out, they probably would have carried on still too!), and they’re good for a little afternoon pick-me-up for the lunch box. Useful.

Last Sunday I made Viennese Whirls, which although they were super tricky to make (oh-so-annoyingly delicate), they were sooooo tasty! My most proudest moment in baking (taste wise) – yet I have no picture evidence of them due to how cack they looked. I will endeavour to try again and aim to produce a more sturdy biscuit for them and then share the recipe (although I’m slightly worried that the deliciousness of the recipe will impaired with tampering..).

And this Sunday was no exception for my biscuit baking antics. More Viennese Whirls? I hear you ask. No. Not this weekend, as lovely as they are and as much as I want to perfect the recipe – they are calorie loaded so can’t make them too often. Everything in moderation and all that.

This weekend’s session saw the return of the peanut butter! However these ones are not wheat or gluten free like the last lot. But here we go:

Biscuits-2

 

PB & Nutella Biscuits

Ingredients

165g Butter

30g Peanut butter (chunky is best)

30g Chocolate spread (Nutella is great for the added hazelnut flavour)

110g Caster sugar

275g Plain flour

30g Chocolate chunks

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 170C/325F/Gas Mark 3
  • Line a baking tray with baking paper
  • Beat together the butter and peanut butter until soft and creamy
  • Add in the sugar and chocolate spread and mix
  • Sift in the flour and mix until fully combined with the rest of the mixture
  • Add in the chocolate chunks and (you guessed it) mix
  • Your mixture will look like wet chancy sand at the beach, don’t panic, this is right
  • Pick up some of the mixture (roughly the size of a walnut) and mould it gently in your hands into a disc shape
  • Place it onto the lined baking tray and repeat with the rest of the mixture – but make sure you leave enough room for them to grow slightly on the tray
  • Bake for 15 mins or until golden brown
  • Transfer to a cooling rack to cool and harden

And that’s it. Mine were a little bit on the small side so I ended up making A LOT of biscuits (I used a smaller than walnut sized amount of mixture) but that just means they’ll last longer…or I’ll have to eat a couple at a time to get proper satisfaction.

Let me know if you give it a go or any of the recipes on my blog – I’d love to know how you get on with them!

Leave a Reply

