Home

After watching so many cooking, baking and dining programmes recently, I have been inspired and almost desperate to start making more of my own foods.

And one particular Sunday evening saw me rummaging determinedly through the cupboards for whatever I could find to create something with. I had the idea in my head that I wanted to make Viennese Whirls, however I quickly discovered, through my searching, that I didn’t have even half of the right ingredients. And as it was 6:30pm on a Sunday night, it meant I couldn’t even just pop out to get what I needed.

In the baking mood, I continued to search the kitchen for anything that would work for making biscuits. Success was mine as I found all the right ingredients for peanut butter cookies!

And, oh it was so satisfying too.

Cookie-1

 

I find that my cravings to do certain things can be just as strong as any old food craving. So when I get a feeling like that where there is nothing else that I want to do – nothing – I will try to find some/any way to do it… or at least a version of it.

Which meant that in making these peanut butter cookies, quite frankly, it didn’t matter what they turned out like – I just had to make them.

Happily they turned out nice anyway and have kept us going for almost two weeks!

I can’t remember how many I managed to make but it was quite a lot. Anyway, here’s the recipe for you!

Peanut Butter Cookies

Ingredients

175g Brown sugar

125g Butter

1 Egg

125g Peanut Butter

175g Rice flour

1tsp Baking Powder

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 180C/356F/Gas Mark 4.
  • Beat together the sugar and the butter until soft.
  • Add in the peanut butter and egg and mix.
  • Fold in the flour and baking powder until fully combined with the rest of the mixture.
  • Drop teaspoon sized amounts of the mixture onto a tray lined with baking paper, but make sure you leave enough room for them to grow.
  • Bake for 15-20 mins.

I did also add in some extra chunks of cooking chocolate that I had in the cupboard – so feel free to chuck in a bit of something extra if it takes your fancy.

Cookies-2

I cannot tell you how good I felt after I had made these, not only were they easy and fun to make but they taste really good too. I must admit I prefer when their a couple of days old and the rice flour has (it’s the only way I describe it) softened a little bit. I’m not sure how long these are meant to last for, but we’ve just kept these in a seal lock container for almost two weeks and they still seem super tasty to me!

My next baking venture will be more bread and cake trials, or possibly even finally getting around to making those Viennese Whirls *fingers crossed*.

What baking recipes have you been trying your hand at lately?

3 thoughts on “Baking – Peanut butter cookies

Leave a Reply

