Home

This book, I am sorry to say, I have had to abandon. Under doctors orders. Sort of. Not really, but for the sake of my own sanity, so it might as well be doctors orders. I’ll explain as I go through it.

I picked up Work Less, Achieve More! By Fergus O’Connell, for £3 from my local Waterstones – excited by the bold statement cover and bargain price.

Its a self-help book giving you techniques of how to get your life back in order whether that’s at work or at home (but mainly focused on the work side, obvs).

To be honest, I don’t have an issue with over working – my working day is done either when the clock says it is or when I’m at a good place to stop for that day. I prioritise, I’m organised and I get my work done.

No, for me, it’s my home life that’s in disarray.

At home I am disorganised, I procrastinate and everything takes me ages – everything. I thought this book may be able to help me by finding ways of organising myself or whatever – just something to get me sorted.

It started well, “…There are no prescriptive methods or complex flowcharts or form to be filled out. […] Instead you learn one simple idea, three simple techniques and you’re up and running.”

Sounds great. Sounds easy. The simple idea is ‘not doing things’ and the three simple techniques are “saying ‘no’ nicely”, “prioritising viciously” and “a little planning is better than a lot of firefighting”.

I genuinely think it had some good tips upfront. For instance, the Saying ‘No’ Nicely section was inspired. The beginning of the Prioritising Viciously section was helpful too but, for me at least, getting further into it the process became complicated and depressing.

There’s lists and maths and spreadsheets, it’s honestly too much for my brain. But I persevered for as long and for as much as I could before Dan insisted that I stop reading it.

Unfortunately for Dan, he was at the wrong end of my crazy depressive side coming out; brought on by me reading a book that I couldn’t fully understand, or replicate the teachings to enhance and settle my life. I can’t fully explain it, but it was making me crazy and sad when I was and wasn’t reading it.

Dan could see me unravelling before his very eyes so begged me to stop and to read some nice fiction that I could enjoy instead; we’d work out everything else together.

I know how lucky I am to have Dan in my life, to stop me when I’m going over the edge. I get like that from time to time, ignited by different situations; and to have someone who holds me back from the darkness and who I know only wants the best for me, makes me more determined to stay in the light.

So my next review will be on The Casual Vacancy by J.K.Rowling. If you read my last book review for The Cuckoo’s Calling, then you’ll be wondering why this is my next choice. But all will be revealed.

You’ll also be happy to know that I’m feeling much better; thanks to Dan, The Casual Vacancy and Headspace!

One thought on “Work Less, Achieve More! – Half review

  1. Pingback: The Casual Vacancy – review | Lisa Tiller

Leave a Reply

