Home

Whilst away, Dan and I made a pact.

We agreed that by the time of our next holiday, that involves us both being in swimwear, we would have beautiful beach-worthy bodies.
This pact came about when we saw two of the entertainment crew sunbathing…until then we had been quite content with ourselves. A girl and a guy, she was beautifully toned and bronzed and he was superbly defined and golden.
We, you know, weren’t.

So, the thing with a pact, means that you have to do it – if you agree to it. Which I did. Our pact involves cutting down on what we eat (cutting down on what I eat..), and exercising more regularly.

The exercising we’re doing pretty good with, I must say. We’ve changed our routine so we are now getting up at 6am to go for a 2 mile run most days of the week (we’re aiming for at least five times a week), then weights, sit ups and I have this spinning board thing – which I spin on. By the time we’ve finished all this we can then leisurely get ourselves ready for the working day.

I’m not sure if this is the same for everyone who does exercise in the morning, but by the time I get to work, it feels like a whole different day. Very odd.

I don’t feel any more tired for getting up at that time in the mornings and plus, it means that when I get home after work, my evenings are my own to do with as I wish. Not that, so far, I have made the most of my extra time, but I’m working on it.

Now for the food cutting down part of the pact.

My god, I am struggling.

Honestly, I’ve been struggling with this since Christmas! Before that jolly season, I was quite good at not eating too much and making the right choices in what I did eat. Then, the-most-wonderful-time-of-the-year hit, and I let myself indulge…a lot.

Since then, food, BAD food, is on my mind all of the time. I’m hungry all day every day and am finding it difficult saying no to all of the temptations that are to be found EVERYWHERE. It’s the feeling of missing out, I suppose. If everyone else is having it, why can’t I?!

But, back to the pact. If I can continue to get myself up at 6am before my working day for exercise, then there must be some strong part within me that is willing for me to succeed. My will power that’s in control of my food seems to be sleeping on the job, I just have to find a way to re-awaken it, then I will be well and truly on the right track for our beach body pact.

Is anyone else having this issue? Are you trying to cut down on food and have found a good technique that stops you from indulging too much? Please do share! x

Leave a Reply

