Home

I’d never heard of Modern Family before I came across it on Netflix.
I was looking for a new series to watch in my spare-time, something that would keep me occupied for half hour or so if I was on my own, and saw that this had a good rating on Netflix so thought I’d give it a shot.

Love it – is not quite strong enough a sentiment in my opinion. Anyone who knows me (or has seen it for themselves) knows that I have even mentioned about my love for Modern Family on my CV!! Oh yeah. Sounds mental but trust me, it works.

This programme is great! Within the first five minutes of watching it, I was howling with laughter (a pretty image for you, I’m sure), and quickly adopted the characters as if they were a part of my own family.

We have Jay Pritchett, he is the head of the family and is married to Gloria, who has a son from a previous marriage, called Manny.
Then there’s Claire, who is Jay’s grown-up daughter, and she is married to Phil Dunphy, and they have three children: Hayley, Alex and Luke.
Lastly there’s Jay’s grown-up son Mitchell, who has a boyfriend called Cameron and an adopted Vietnamese child called Lily.

We follow the family in a mockumentary style show as they go about their everyday lives encountering ‘could happen to anyone’ problems. But it’s the way that they deal with those problems, the pacing of the humour, the clever script and the loveable characters – that make this a very special show and so easy to watch.

I’ve so far only seen up to series four, and since only two of those were on Netflix, I liked it so much that I then went out and bought (read as: was given as presents for christmas and birthday) the next ones so I could carry on watching it!

If you haven’t seen it, give it a go!

3 thoughts on “Modern Family review

Leave a Reply

