Home

I’ve recently been trying to find healthier versions of recipes that both Mr.T and I will enjoy.

He doesn’t have the same sort of relationship with food as I have; I eat because I enjoy my food and love exotic new tastes, Mr.T eats to survive – and isn’t really bothered too much about deviating from his usual meals.

The routine response I get to the question, ‘what do you fancy for dinner?’ is either “pizza” or “Domino’s” (we’ve been known to have it three times in one week before…I know).

I recently completed a week long juice diet which has kick started me into thinking differently about food and being healthier in my food choices.

Using the power of the Internet and, mainly, Pinterest, I’ve been trying to find healthier versions of some of our usual meals; meaning that we can compromise (after all that’s what marriage is about, so they say) by still having the foods Mr.T enjoys with the calories that I enjoy!

So when I stumbled across a recipe for cauliflower pizza, I thought this would be a perfect compromise dinner.

I’ve made this twice already. I love it!

Don’t get me wrong, you know you’re not eating real pizza when you’re eating this –  but it’s got some good flavours going on in it, that you don’t really mind its got no bread crust.

I must admit, Mr.T isn’t as impressed with it as I have been, but he has said he likes it and would be happy to have it again, which is lucky for him as he will definitely be having it again.

Cauliflower Pizza

Serves 2

Ingredients

Cauliflower crust:

340g raw cauliflower, fresh or frozen

1 large free-range egg

50g grated mozzarella cheese

2 tablespoons finely grated Parmesan cheese

1/4 teaspoon dried basil

1/4 teaspoon dried oregano

1/4 teaspoon garlic granules or powder

salt and pepper to taste

Topping:

25g sliced mozzarella cheese

2 large tomatoes, sliced

1/2 red onion, peeled and thinly sliced

1/4 teaspoon red chilli flakes

¼ teaspoon dried herbs

Directions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 210C/420F/Gas mark 7 and line a baking tray greaseproof paper.
  2. Grate the cauliflower, or process it in a food processor; you want crumbs not purée. If using frozen, you’ll want to squeeze the crumbs to remove excess water.
  3. Microwave the cauliflower crumbs for 6 minutes, or until soft.
  4. Place the crumbs in to a large mixing bowl and add in the egg, grated mozzarella cheese, Parmesan cheese, herbs, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Mix together to form a “dough”.
  5. Place the cauliflower “dough” onto the prepared tray and pat out into a large circle, about 12.5cms (10″) in diameter and about 1.5cms (1/2″) thick. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until golden brown and firm.
  6. Place the sliced tomatoes on top, scatter over the onion and whatever other toppings you’d like, lay the sliced mozzarella cheese on top and sprinkle the chilli flakes and dried herbs over the whole thing.
  7. Bake for 10 minutes or until the topping is bubbling and the cheese has melted. Cut into wedges and serve with salad.

Give it a try and tell me what you think : )

One thought on “Wheat-free Pizza

Leave a Reply

